Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge – Escape


So…..Being retired, I don’t really have much to escape from anymore – at least not in the traditional sense.  In my last post, I mentioned I was leaving to go to Yellowstone National Park.  I spent 12 hours in the car on Friday to reach Salt Lake City.  Saturday I was approaching 12 hours again between getting to Jackson Wyoming and then starting to search for photo ops – all in the pouring down rain.  About 5 in the evening, I was driving down a remote mountain road looking for creatures when it finally stopped raining.  I rolled down my window and was immediately refreshed with the scent of fresh pine bought even fresher by the spring rain.  I also turned off the “tunes” from the car stereo and it was replaced by the melodies of the mountain forest birds.  Then, about a hundred yards down the road, I caught a glimpse of some light “spots” on the hill to my left.  Upon approach , it was a nice herd of about 8 Elk working their way up the hillside (the spots where their white butts).  I spent about ten uninterrupted minutes with them staring at me and me staring through my lens at them before they heard an intruding car and departed over the hill.  It was a great reprieve from the confines of my car – here’s a shot from my moment of “great escape”.

Thanks, my friends!

Thanks, my friends!

13 responses

  1. never seen these animals in nature myself. Thanks for sharing…

    May 20, 2013 at 6:29 am

    • BAtR – I’m glad I could introduce my experience with the Elk to you. Lots more to come of my last few days of incredible wildlife experiences.

      May 22, 2013 at 9:33 pm

  2. How wonderful that they indulged you! Looks like a lovely little escape!

    May 20, 2013 at 8:17 am

    • TRS – Its been a great trip since arriving at Yellowstone – met up with some Scottish friends of mine and have had some amazing wildlife photo adventures that I’ll share in the coming days…

      May 22, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  3. Pingback: A Little Wedding Photography In Galveston, Texas | rebeccalatsonphotography

    • Rebecca – Thank you for the wonderful compliment!

      May 27, 2013 at 3:13 pm

  4. I am retired too, and am in my seventh day of driving (from Florida) to Yellowstone. I am hoping the rain will let up so I too can get some “great escape” shots when I arrive tomorrow. Your blogs contain some wonderful images. Thanks for sharing…

    May 20, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    • John,
      Hope you got here for the last day and half of nice weather (this afternoon. not so much). We have had great success
      so far with wolves, bears, foxes, and much more. Will share as I get some time to process some images. I am very happy that you are enjoying my photos – it really is my pleasure to share.

      May 22, 2013 at 9:30 pm

  5. Absolutely wonderful escape, Scott!

    May 21, 2013 at 7:29 am

    • It was a great respite from the rains – with some new friends.

      May 22, 2013 at 9:27 pm

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge :: Escape | Cheryl Andrews

Leave a comment