Sharing moments in time…

Eyeopener for Weds…


I was going through some of the Africa photos I hadn’t processed yet and found this one that I thought I’d do a little differently.  I  made it into sort of a dark black and white and then restored the natural color to the lions eye.  This was one of the three male lions of the large pride that we spent some time with in the Northern Serengeti.  He had just rolled over from part of his nap while the “women-folk” were out hunting.  Happy Weds!

The Master Awakens

The Master Awakens

17 responses

  1. Wow, this is stunning!!

    March 26, 2014 at 7:25 am

    • Amina – Thank you! Its nice to see another wannabe photographer (like myself) find my blog – I really like some of your black and white photos!

      March 28, 2014 at 10:59 am

  2. Would have worked great as a photo for my poem, That lion there.

    March 26, 2014 at 8:49 am

    • After visiting your blog, I’m not sure what to call you….L? Lawrence? Skip? Anyway, its nice to meet another blogger of a “certain age” who plays a little guitar….

      March 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

      • Skip. L. Stewart is to make it sound like I’m creative and refined.

        March 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

      • Skip – I never would have tried something like that – no hope for me!

        March 28, 2014 at 11:23 am

      • If you ever get near NC, look me up and I’ll show you the Blue Ridge Mtns and Grandfather. We can also jam a little

        March 28, 2014 at 11:09 am

      • Thanks Skip – same goes for you if you ever get out west to San Diego. I have some pretty nice guitars that are far better than the guy who plays them – I’m sure you could teach me a thing or two….

        March 28, 2014 at 11:25 am

  3. Amazing! Great shot

    March 26, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    • Ato – thanks! Maybe its my version of the butterfly effect….. :-)

      March 28, 2014 at 11:09 am

  4. Oh my. How majestic!

    March 26, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    • RR – Thanks! The males look very dignified ….but mostly they sleep and let their lioness’s do all the work… :-)

      March 28, 2014 at 11:12 am

      • Ah, that’s what I learnt when I watched the documentaries too! Only, you got to see them up close! :)

        April 16, 2014 at 6:29 am

      • RR – I am indeed a lucky photographer….

        April 18, 2014 at 9:20 am

  5. we like the treatment of this image… check out our own work

    March 27, 2014 at 9:02 pm

    • Helene – Thank you – I love to play with different variations of color/saturation. I really like your African portraits – well done!

      March 28, 2014 at 11:22 am

  6. Thanks Nora – I have so many lion photos from our trip (but you can NEVER have too many lion photos), I was looking for something a little different to capture the amazing eyes of these incredible cats

    March 28, 2014 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers