Sharing moments in time…

Galapagos Owls


The Galapagos Owls are very difficult to see.  They are not very large and they blend in perfectly with the lava terrain.  This one was sitting down in a lava crevice when we first spotted it.  It eventually came out more in the open and I was able to get this image of it.

Galapagos Short Eared Owl

We thought we saw a few other owls as we continued our hike but it wasn’t apparent whether there were several owls or just one or two moving around.  In any case, I was very fortunate to also get a shot off with the owl taking off.  I clipped his wings a little but that disappointment was somewhat lessened by the fact that I was the only one on our boat that got a decent in flight photo.  These are also my first owl photos of any kind (an owl virgin?) so I enjoyed that also.

Galapagos Owl Takeoff

4 responses

  1. Donna

    Great photo’s. The “take off” is fantastic. You’ve got to be real fast on the shutter to get a shot like that. Love the perturbed look in the owl’s eyes,. Thanks for sharing.

    July 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    • Thanks Donna! I enjoy taking birds in flight and “bagging” a new type is a kick.

      July 24, 2011 at 7:12 pm

  2. Hi Scott, great Galapagos Short-Eared Owl photos. I’m researching the beautiful Short-Eared Owls we get here in the UK, and would like to get in contact with you regarding your photos. But I can’t find a contact point on your blog! You can contact me via my modest and still in it’s very early days bird blog, (mostly Owls!), at KentYeti.co.uk if that is OK with you. Contact link to my email is at the bottom of the home page. If you GOOGLE my blog URL first hopefullly you will see I am a genuine bird/Owl lover. Cheers, Bryan Benn, Kent UK.

    November 11, 2012 at 6:38 am

    • Bryan – I’ll check it out and get in contact – thanks for looking back through my blog!

      November 12, 2012 at 10:21 am

Leave a Reply

