Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Texture


Thought I’d offer two photos for this week’s challenge – one from my archives and one from my flight home last night.  The first is an image from South Africa.  It was taken of a group (herd? gaggle? pride?) of zebra on the plain.  It is always interesting to see how their patterns mix and create art – but I also liked the way the textures of their coats and manes intermingled.

African Art

The second shot is a highly technical and staged shot (wink) that I took from my iPhone out the window of the airplane heading home from the Washington DC area to San Diego last night.  I had seen the title of this weeks challenge in my email so I thought this might fit….

Airborne Texture

17 responses

  1. northernnarratives

    I love the zebra!

    September 10, 2011 at 9:48 am

    • Thanks Judy – quite a contrast with the ice storm on your site – made me cold just to look at it!

      September 10, 2011 at 11:13 am

  2. love the zebra shot…creative…makes me want to touch. – rita

    September 10, 2011 at 11:14 am

  3. Love the zebra photo. It’s strange, but I’ve seen a few Zebra photos recently and they do make the perfect subjects for photography!

    September 10, 2011 at 11:15 am

  4. Nice !

    September 10, 2011 at 11:44 am

    • Thanks Emad – I like your guitar shot (as a player myself)

      September 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  5. Great shots – love the unusual zebra shot – so NOT the norm. 🙂 As for the technical shot – whatever works I say, and this works.

    September 10, 2011 at 12:42 pm

  6. both gorgeous.

    September 10, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  7. Oh, I like both photos. The clouds look so fluffy like cotton balls.

    September 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    • Thanks Caroline – Your Alaska pic looks like someone took a knife to cut the glaciers – nice shot!

      September 10, 2011 at 6:50 pm

  8. Love the Zebra Coats

    September 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm

  9. if there is such a thing as a ‘you made me google’ award, then this post gets it. because yes, you made me google. and i learned that a group of zebras is known as a “harem of zebras”. who knew?!
     
    thanks for sharing two diverse shots, and yes the clouds certainly qualify for this challenge. good thinking!

    September 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    • Hi Chris,
      Thanks for the info on the zebras – I guess I could have looked it up myself but then again, I’m lazy. I really liked the collage of shots you did under the challenge this week. Your description of your photography journey also sounds a lot like mine – friends encouragement and then a start at doing real “engagements” – but I must admit I am most interested in nature and wildlife photography.

      September 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm

  10. oh, wow – the zebras photo is amazing. thank you for sharing. were you that close?

    September 14, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    • We were pretty close – maybe 30 yards or so. Not as close as you were to your peaches picture – made me hungry.

      September 15, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      • ah, bet you could still smell them! (smile)

        September 15, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Leave a Reply

