Sharing moments in time…

The Moose is loose


I was looking for a photo to post today and considering my options as I haven’t taken alot of pics since returning from Alaska and I found that I had forgotten to show the only Moose (in the wild) that we saw while we were up there.  After hiking for two days in the countryside outside of Anchorage, and looking for moose at all times, we decided to try to find one IN Anchorage.  While that may seem counterintuitive, we had read in one of the local tourist brochures that there are more moose in the city than there are in all of Denali – and interestingly enough, a large portion of them frequent a park that runs between the boundary fence around the airport and the surrounding water.  So we set out in the dusk to find Bullwinkle and his friends and finally caught a glimpse of a calf in a marshy field.  He (or She) appeared briefly and then just disappeared into the grass, seemingly without moving.  As it turns out, it just sat down to escape our view.  I know this since, despite knowing better, I walked out into the field to see if I could get a shot.  At the same time I spotted the calf, I also saw Mom – and she wasn’t too far away from me and was watching closely.  As I backed away from both of them I snapped a few quick shots of “the protector” as I left.

Mom was not happy with me....

While that was the only “wild” meese (okay mooses) we saw we did get to see a few more in a wildlife conservancy park where I took this picture of a nice bull with his velvet horns – waiting to be reintroduced into the bush.

Where's Rocky?

4 responses

  1. amazing pictures!!
    http://rodposse.com/

    September 14, 2011 at 10:37 am

  2. nice pic! I haven’t seen moose in real life. 🙂

    September 14, 2011 at 11:52 am

    • Thanks for visiting – don’t imagine Moose would take to the climate of the Phillipines!

      September 14, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

