Sharing moments in time…

“Puddy Tat”


A very large Puddy Tat during nap time.  The Wild Animal Park has a very nice Lion exhibit where you can get unobstructed shots of the big cats.  This was in the afternoon – I liked the shadows and the partial light on her eyes.  I find Lions to be incredibly attractive and I can’t wait to get back to Africa in December to get some good photos in the wild.  Until then, this one and some others I have to share will have to do.  Click the photo to enlarge – click her face twice to look her in the eye.

Shadowed Hunter

4 responses

  1. This lion is so beautiful, I love to see them in the zoo, but there is nothing better than to see them running free in thier natural environment. I cannot wait to see your photos from Africa… where are you headed^ I was in Kenya and the Masai Mara was wonderful, so much wildlife, I was blown away.

    October 23, 2011 at 11:00 am

    • Maggie – going to south Africa and Kruger. Just a short trip but hopefully will get some good opportunities.

      October 23, 2011 at 11:12 am

  2. That’ another great shot! The male lion and the two females were sleeping every time I passed them. The male lion woke up and walked about 100 feet; he came over to lay down three feet from the glass. Unfortunately, I didn’t see him make his great move, but did get a pretty good shot of him a sleep again, but this time only three feet away. There was still too much reflection in the glass to get a good clean shot like the one you got. I read that they sometimes sleep 21 hours a day.

    October 23, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    • Hi Kent – I took this at the other end of the compound – not through the glass. I got a couple of good shots of the male also – I’ll probably post one of them.

      October 23, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

