Sharing moments in time…

Great Egret – okay, pretty much an average one


In any case, that’s what this is picture of  – a great egret (as opposed to the other kinds of egrets) standing in the tide waters of the san diego river inlet.  I was after the reflections but I think the thing that I like about this picture is the colors in the plants growing out of the pond.  We don’t get the spectacular  color change that much of the rest of the US does but this is a nice contrast to “snow white” and her upside down sister…..

Are great egrets really better than snowy egrets?

12 responses

  1. I never see these birds anymore (moved years ago), so it’s a GREAT Egret. 🙂 Love this photo. I can’t take my eye off the bird, but I too love the the color of the foliage. Beautiful. :0

    October 28, 2011 at 8:57 am

    • Thanks Katie! Glad I could bring back some memories…..

      October 28, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  2. Nice capture

    October 28, 2011 at 10:40 am

    • Thanks Eden. Always nice to get a positive comment from a fellow photographer – especially one that likes Harpo!

      October 28, 2011 at 1:55 pm

  3. VERY NICE SCOTT

    October 28, 2011 at 11:36 am

  4. I don’t recall seeing a snowy egret., if I had, it wasn’t this up close and personall……WoW…what a beauty. Thank you…

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    October 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    • Siggi – I think I’ve posted some snowy egrets in the past but I’ll probably do it again as they are plentiful around here all year long. Thanks!

      October 28, 2011 at 1:57 pm

  5. So crisp and clear! The reflection is great!

    October 29, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  6. The Egret reflection is great! I have a 73 acre bird sanctuary about a mile from my house where I saw about 40 white Egrets a couple of Saturdays ago all clustered around the same area. They are beautiful birds.

    October 30, 2011 at 8:01 am

    • Another great practice bird for flying shots – big enough and slow enough to “draw a bead” on. Also always in the shallows so they are great reflection opportunities.

      October 30, 2011 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

