Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait


I apologize for another quick post but I remembered that I might have another, more recent reflection self portrait.  This was my first attempt at photographing the Christmas window at Bergdorf Goodman in New York City last week.  Its interesting, at least to me, that I showed up in the dark shade of the photographer’s hood in the window scene.  Yep – that’s me in the pink baseball hat – just above my watermark.  Sorry for the second post….

Another Reflection Picture? Get a new idea!

26 responses

  1. why not? on reflection, it can be interesting what can happen when you focus on one thing, and end up capturing another 🙂

    December 16, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    • that is definitely what happened here…

      December 16, 2011 at 8:03 pm

  2. Great masterpiece 🙂

    December 16, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  3. Pingback: Oil on Wood – Weekly Photo Challenge « Cardinal Guzman

  4. Nandini

    So many things to notice in one image. Great photo. I can see you. 🙂

    December 17, 2011 at 6:11 am

    • Its great when a mistake works out – If I had rotated the polarizing filter earlier, this photo wouldn’t have happened!

      December 17, 2011 at 10:42 am

  5. Pingback: Mirroring Me | Directionally Impaired in Life's Infinite Possibilities

  6. Amar Naik

    nice portrait shot

    December 17, 2011 at 6:54 pm

  7. You have some serious talent. Great capture for self-portrait.

    December 18, 2011 at 6:42 am

    • Thank you! Thats a nice way to start a Sunday morning – I appreciate it!

      December 18, 2011 at 8:47 am

  8. Very clever and so beautifully dramatic!

    December 18, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • Thanks Patti – I could have donned some feathers to fit in better….

      December 18, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  9. In each dark side there is some light… Thank you for sharing it with us.
    Greetings from Switzerland,
    – Pierre

    December 19, 2011 at 4:24 am

    • Thanks for the comments Pierre – hope you come back. It’s been a while since I have in your beautiful country but I will be back.

      December 19, 2011 at 9:07 am

  10. I think i took a similar shot today of the Bergdorf Window! Reflection (of me) and all 🙂

    December 19, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    • When do we get to see it??

      December 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      • I might do a post though given it was so hard to take photos without so much reflection (no amount to pressing up to the windows nor shielding my lens could capture the brilliance of the windows themselves). If it happens, you’ll see it. Not sure if you follow my blog?

        December 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

      • Hi Marina, I’ve been checking your blog frequently to see what you’re doing and I’m now subscribed. OBTW – nice post on the Guggenheim. We didn’t stay too far from there during our visit but we never got over there…had 2 Broadway plays and many other things on the agenda…

        December 20, 2011 at 10:29 am

      • Scott – NYC is like that. Sometimes it’s all too much! Ok, will try and post on the windows if I can gather enough photos that don’t show reflections of yellow cabs and skyscrapers… and PEOPLE! Oh, so many people on 5th Avenue right now! Thanks for your comment re: Guggenheim. One of my fave buildings! At least you saw a bit of it via blog 🙂

        December 20, 2011 at 7:32 pm

      • I love NYC in the winter. I don’t get there very often any more but I grew up in NJ and always enjoyed the city more this time of year.

        December 20, 2011 at 9:28 pm

  11. I’m startled by this one every time it scrolls by. Not you, of course, but the mannequins. They’re kind of creepy.

    December 20, 2011 at 8:45 am

    • and I’m not? (and I try so hard)

      December 20, 2011 at 10:24 am

  12. jbheronneau

    very good!
    beautiful picture

    http://jibsphotography.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/weekly-photo-challenge-self-portrait/

    December 20, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    • Thanks Jb! I like your series also. I didn’t have the guts to actually try to take a real pic of me….:-)

      December 21, 2011 at 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

