Sharing moments in time…

Next “Big 5” animal – the cape buffalo (and helper)


So here’s the 4th member of the Big 5 – the Cape Buffalo.  These large beasts are pretty imposing and although they look kind of docile, they earned their reputation as a dangerous animal.  Wikepedia says that they still gore and kill over 200 people a year (sounds high to me).  Whatever the stats are, the buffalo’s stare is enough to tell you not to mess with them.  This one, like most of the larger, slower moving animals we saw, had a red billed oxpecker feeding on the parasites that live on them.  I was lucky to get a shot with both faces prominent in the frame…..

Buffalo Buddy

6 responses

  1. Awesome photo..you probably get tire of the same response…so I waited til this on of the last four to pick a REALLY awesome…to me…and impressive photo.

    Thanks for sharing your photos of a world unknown to me in real life and is unlikely to be except thru your photos.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    December 29, 2011 at 9:53 am

    • Siggi – I thank you so much for your kind comments. I’m enjoying sharing the photos almost as much as I am taking them. I’m especially glad if any of my photos help you appreciate the far off lands and their creatures and cultures. It is truly my pleasure!!

      December 29, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  2. great capture! the oxpecker almost looks camouflaged against the buffalo. You had great timing and a great vantage point! Love it 🙂

    December 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  3. jacquelincangro

    I sure wouldn’t want to get too close to this cape buffalo. He looks like he would gore you first and ask questions later. 🙂

    December 31, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • They look docile but I guess they can “turn” at any second…

      January 1, 2012 at 1:44 pm

  4. purpleowltree1234

    Whoah! This guy looks way bigger and more sturdy than the carabaos (water buffalos) in the Philippines. I love how he’s so big and scary and dangerous, and his friend is a little bird. 🙂
    Rach.

    July 10, 2012 at 2:48 am

Leave a Reply

