Sharing moments in time…

Blue Heron in flight


I paid a short visit to Lake Murray here in San Diego about a week ago.  I went a little late in the morning and there wasn’t much flying until I saw this fella approaching from the other side of the lake.  He flew right at me until veering off just before he flew over.  That gave me a pretty good opportunity to catch the full details of his wing feathers as he past by in a cloudless blue sky.  Hope you enjoy – click for closeup details of the wing.

Heron Fly-by

21 responses

  1. gorgeous and so graceful! Nat Geo worthy!

    January 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    • I think it would have to be carrying a lion or leopard or something….

      January 25, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      • No no no – they don’t always have to be dramatic shots from what I have seen. take a peak yourself… capturing such grace, so crisply – it’s a beautiful image!

        January 25, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      • Thanks Marina – I appreciate it. OBTW-I’ve recently entered a couple of the challenges over at the Digital Photography Review. You submit against a challenge title (like here) but they actually have the forum members rate the submissions and designate the highest vote getters. It will be interesting to see how my photos fare there.

        January 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm

      • what’s the website – I’d love to take a look!

        January 25, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  2. WoW. What a powerful photo. Thanks for sharing.

    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    January 25, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    • Thanks Siggi – it was almost too easy – he (or she) came to me..

      January 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm

  3. Nice! how did you get him to pose like that for you?

    January 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    • Jennifer,
      Must have had something to do with Heron costume I put on my camera to fool him….

      January 25, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  4. Awesome capture!

    January 25, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  5. Incredible photo. Those wings are beautiful. I wonder if he gets cramps in his legs from holding them so straight 🙂

    January 25, 2012 at 6:14 pm

  6. An action shot that’s sooooo clear! Nice!

    January 25, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    • Thanks Fergie – it was his action – I was just standing there….:-)

      January 25, 2012 at 6:50 pm

  7. amazing photo from and equally amazing photographer

    January 25, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    • Thanks Maggie – If only you could see me blush!

      January 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  8. narhvalur

    Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors.

    January 26, 2012 at 12:33 am

  9. This is a lovely capture. 🙂

    January 26, 2012 at 1:13 am

    • Thanks Mike – we seem to get a lot of opportunities with egrets and herons but have never had your great luck with foxes!

      January 26, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  10. read this: http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/your-shot/your-shot and SUBMIT!

    January 27, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Leave a Reply

