Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope


This might be a stretch for this subject but I think the following photo represents hope in at least three ways:

  • The hope that the Leopard is showing that he can find some prey
  • The hope that we humans can take the actions needed to keep these magnificent animals alive and thriving in their natural environments, and
  • The hope that I can continue to have the extraordinary luck and opportunity to “capture” these animals and share them with you.

While the third hope is pretty selfish and minor in the great scheme of things, I hope that in some small way, we photographers can help inspire people to prioritize the preservation of these animals, and nature in general, for our future generations.  Have a great weekend everyone!

Hope for the future - short and long term?

39 responses

  1. Amazing photo, as always. The leopard is simply beautiful.

    January 27, 2012 at 11:48 am

  2. Beautiful photograph. I hope your hopes in regards to the preservation of these (and all animals) big cats is fulfilled.

    January 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  3. Most definitely I see hope in this photo! Beautiful creature!

    January 27, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    • Thanks Fergie. By your photos it looks like we share that hope for nature.

      January 27, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  4. Brilliant shot, where was it taken?

    January 27, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    • Hi Laura,
      Thank you. This was taken in Kruger National Park in South Africa back in early December. A rare opportunity.

      January 27, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      • Saw my first leopards in the Sabi Sand Reserve a good few years back – it was a mother and a playful cub – but despite the sightings I’ve had then and since never been lucky enough to capture a moment like this.

        My favourite was in Uganda – because it was me who spotted her in the tree a good distance away! Not often I beat my husband, a tracker and our guide in the spotting stakes! – when she decided to come to a tree closer to us to ‘check us out’.

        Stunning animals!

        January 27, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      • Laura,
        They indeed stunning. This was one of a pair of cubs that stayed around us for about 15 minutes. I was able to get quite a variety of photos of them. Your sighting sounds equally as incredible!

        January 27, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  5. Beautiful interpretation of the theme, Scott. Your first point is actually what came to mind when I first looked at it.

    January 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • Thanks Gracie. He was definitely hoping to find something – I’m glad it was us!

      January 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  6. what a brilliant capture.
    thank you for sharing your hope 🙂

    January 27, 2012 at 1:14 pm

  7. Ash

    well interpreted!

    January 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  8. a beautiful photo!

    January 27, 2012 at 2:52 pm

  9. Awesome. I don’t find your last hope selfish at all. I think the world would be a much poorer place without these magnificant creatures and people who want to protect them.

    January 27, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    • Thanks Brenda. Your photo is very touching and also very worthy of this challenge!

      January 27, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  10. Great capture Scott – my hope is that all three of yours come through

    January 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    • Thanks Jo – I really fear for the future of the great cats.

      January 27, 2012 at 7:01 pm

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope | Chronicles of Illusions

  12. Northern Narratives

    Beautiful post and I also hope for the animals and the environment.

    January 27, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    • Thank you. I hope that common sense rules and we protect the environment for these cats before they are all gone.

      January 27, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  13. A.M

    great shot and the loved the description all the more 🙂

    January 27, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    • Thanks You. I’m very glad that all many of the bloggers share this hope!

      January 27, 2012 at 9:06 pm

  14. narhvalur

    Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors.

    January 27, 2012 at 8:39 pm

  15. I like this a lot, but my daughter loves it even more, .:)
    http://wp.me/p1j16x-3O

    January 28, 2012 at 3:36 am

    • Thanks Gerry (and thanks to your daughter also)!

      January 28, 2012 at 10:23 am

  16. nice shot!!

    January 28, 2012 at 9:20 am

    • Thanks for visiting all the way from Singapore – I hope to visit there again someday, it is a gorgeous city/country.

      January 28, 2012 at 10:23 am

  17. I love your interpretation of the challenege. It is different and you
    reaons so true.
    Very nice,
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/01/28/weekly-photo-challenge-hope/

    January 28, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    • Thank you Isadora! I very much appreciate your comment – its nice to know I’m not totally crazy in my “connections” 🙂

      January 28, 2012 at 12:29 pm

  18. exquisite creature.

    January 29, 2012 at 8:06 am

  19. Great Shot for this week theme 🙂

    January 29, 2012 at 3:42 pm

  20. Sharing all your hopes. What a fabulous photo.

    January 31, 2012 at 7:50 am

    • Thanks Patti! I had “hoped” that we would find some leopards in South Africa – and we sure did!

      January 31, 2012 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

