Sharing moments in time…

Kreativ Blogger Award – Get out the word!!


"the bloggers are coming, the bloggers are coming"!

Much to my surprise, I was nominated yesterday to receive the coveted Kreativ Blogger award.  I haven’t yet come to grips with the incredibly lucrative financial benefits that are sure to accompany this award…but it is a welcome surprise nontheless. So thanks to Colline at http://collinesblog.wordpress.com/ for nominating my blog for this award.  When I started blogging (and photographing) earlier this year, I had no idea that this would turn into an opportunity to connect with so many interesting and accomplished people from all around the world.

kreativ blogger award

As with any award, rules of acceptance have been decreed:

  1. Thank the blogger who presented you with this award (thanks again, Colline)
  2. Post a photo of the award (done)
  3. Share 10 things about yourself that readers do not know
  4. Choose 6 people to present this award to
  5. Let the 6 people know that they have been awarded.

As for myself, here’s 10 random thoughts:

  1.  I am an aspiring acoustic guitar player but my handmade guitar “collection” is much nicer than my playing will ever do justice to
  2. I retired from being a civilian in the US Navy department and was second in Command of an 8,000 person and $6B/year engineering command.  I am a part time consultant in my “interim” career (between my main career and full time lazing around) but that work is starting to interfere with my other hobbies so I will probably not continue that much longer
  3. After retirement, I briefly considered a second career in the golf industry but I am happy that I changed my mind as I am playing less (and worse) golf these days but enjoying it more when I do play
  4. I have two dogs, one of which is certifiably insane
  5. In less than a year I have gone from one point and shoot camera to 5 cameras, an assortment of lenses, and other equipment that I’m trying to figure out how to use.  My disposable income has decreased as my photo gear has grown
  6. I grew up  and went to college in New Jersey, and still follow Rutgers football (kind of sad)
  7. My wife, Dee, may be the most avid San Diego Chargers fan (and supporter of coach Norv Turner) on the planet
  8. We enjoy traveling, learning a little about the places we visit and meeting the wonderful people of the varied cultures that inhabit our world
  9. Our favorite trips normally involve the “natural” world and specifically, wildlife.  One of our favorite experiences so far has been sharing a salmon stream, up close and personal, in Alaska with Brown (Grizzly) Bears.  We liked that trip so much, we are going to a different part of Alaska this year to hopefully see Bears in a different environment and add a few wolves and foxes to the photographic mix….
  10. We also enjoy scuba diving although we only go once or twice a year.  Our favorite dive areas so far have been the island of Sipadan in Malaysia and the Lembeh Straits in Indonesia.  My bucket list includes diving with Whale Sharks somewhere in the world.

As for my nominations for this award….may I have the envelope please…

The first is Marina Chetner at http://marinachetner.com/.  She posts her own photos and thoughts as well as classic quotes and photos from other artists.  Her series on NYC is both informative and extremely interesting – get to know the city through her eyes!  My second nomination is for Maggie at http://maggiephotgraphy.wordpress.com/.  Maggie is loving life and enjoying it to the fullest – anyone who takes up rock climbing in retirement has got to be special!  My third nomination is for Anthony Parente at http://two2dive.wordpress.com/.  Anthony has some terrific photography in both vivid colors and black and white.  My next is Siggi at http://siggiofmaine.wordpress.com/.  Siggi’s blog has some great reflections on life where you quickly understand that she is a wonderfully caring and sensitive person.  My next is Daniel Fee at http://politonomicsandtravel.wordpress.com/.  Daniel’s blog is a very interesting mix of travel photos of the day as well as very thoughtful and well researched opinions of some of the political and economic issues of our times – very interesting and informative.  My last nomination really isn’t a blog nomination – its just a thank you to my friend Cathy Thomas who suggested that I do this blog and did the research to get me going!

PS – the prairie pup was taken on Rt 128 in Utah near Moab.

18 responses

  1. Is it wrong to congratulate and thank you before you’ve accomplished Point 6?? I was so excited for you when I read your subject line – you’re so deserving. Your photos are so varied and so good, and I always look forward to your posts. I was baffled to learn that you had nominated me. It means so much! I am beyond grateful. Thank you!

    February 16, 2012 at 8:07 am

    • My pleasure – and don’t sell yourself short. Your NYC (and other) posts are extremely well done and more informative than I’ve found in other places. Keep it up!

      February 16, 2012 at 8:24 am

      • Thanks! You know I take that as a huge compliment. Really appreciate it and can’t wait to do a post in dedication to you, for giving me this award! PS You have 5 cameras? Lucky! I can’t handle the one 🙂

        February 16, 2012 at 8:28 am

  2. I enjoyed learning more about you. Look forward to seeing the photos as you go through your bucket list 🙂

    February 16, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    • Thanks again, Colline – My bucket seems to be bottomless so I’ll just keep shooting what I see…..

      February 16, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  3. Thank you for the nomination ! I have not in the past been able to figure out how to accomplish all the tasks.
    But you inspire me…and I will this time stay vigilant until I do.
    Your facts about you are so interesting…will continue to follow your progress…I have been taking photos since 1956 and still use a point and shoot …from a Brownie to a zoom lens, wearing out one camera at a time. It will be fun and amazing to watch your progress.

    Thanks again.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    February 16, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    • Siggi,
      Anyone who wears out cameras is definitely worthy of a nomination! Over the years my cameras have gathered a lot of dust until this year’s “spurt” of photography which I hope to keep up. Take Care,
      Scott

      February 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm

  4. Love the photo; I can hear him now. 🙂 Congratulations on your award – well deserved! And thanks for sharing. This is a great post!!!

    February 18, 2012 at 11:06 am

  5. Pingback: A Kreative Sunshine Mash-Up | Marina Chetner

    • Thanks Marina, Its been my pleasure to share this adventure with you.

      February 18, 2012 at 8:52 pm

      • Yes, it’s good fun isn’t it? Thanks for being so kind from the onset – that hummingbird pic is such a good one. Did you take a look at that post that I included it in, from way back when? There’s a shot in there that reminds me of one that you recently. Your shot was excellent. Can you guess which one? here’s the link:
        http://marinachetner.com/2011/11/11/when-a-bolt-of-inspiration-is-required/

        February 19, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      • Hi Marina, It was really fun to go back and look at your post again – it is still a great collection of photos and thought – no wonder you are an award winner!! I really can’t guess which one you are referring to unless it is the lion in morning sunlight. I’m a little thrown because I have a picture of a Llama overseeing Macchu Picchu that is almost identical to the one in your post also. I’m glad you’re having fun with this!

        February 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      • Your pronghorns image reminded me of one in the post. Do you agree?

        February 19, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  6. Jackie Cangro

    Congrats on your blog award! it’s lovely to learn a little more about the person behind all of these amazing photos.

    February 19, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • Thanks Jackie. Its always interesting to figure out what to say about yourself.

      February 19, 2012 at 9:22 am

  7. Good for you! Congrats!

    February 19, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

