Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted


I had to think a little about what I had that might fit this challenge.  I finally decided on a photo I took while skiing at Beaver Creek Colorado.  I was “test driving” a  new camera and experimenting in blurring images with long exposures of action shots.  This was one of the shots that didn’t turn out like I wanted but I thought it was an interesting effect so I didn’t delete it – and here it is.  It is a photo of a skier shooting by me in the late afternoon……

He must be REALLLY fast...

24 responses

  1. Gift

    Nice effect. I want to ski also 🙂

    March 3, 2012 at 8:17 am

    • I love it – hope you get to try it! You look like you’re in a much warmer climate – might be hard to find?

      March 3, 2012 at 8:44 am

      • Gift

        Yeah, in a tropical climate actually, but i experienced snow already 🙂

        March 4, 2012 at 6:10 am

      • hope you make it to the slopes – it is really fun.

        March 4, 2012 at 7:58 am

      • Gift

        I’m looking forward. I really love adventures.

        March 11, 2012 at 5:13 am

  2. It almost looks like a painting – I love it.

    March 3, 2012 at 8:57 am

  3. really like how the pines look.

    ~Anne

    March 3, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    • Thanks Anne – I liked the result even though it wasn’t what I was after – learn something every day….

      March 3, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted (“Melting”) « ANNE FREEMAN IMAGES: Art of the Outdoors

  5. Great capture…

    March 3, 2012 at 2:29 pm

  6. very cool…i could never look that good on a slope

    March 3, 2012 at 4:33 pm

  7. This is really nice ! 🙂 The effect, the composition…All on point for me ! Good job indeed 🙂

    March 4, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • Thanks Imogen – I really appreciate your comments.

      March 4, 2012 at 7:55 am

  8. i saw another blurred entry in this week’s challenge and i thought that it’s really great that blurred photos are sometimes more effective in telling the story a photo is supposed to tell. great photo 🙂

    March 4, 2012 at 3:46 am

    • Thanks Janis – I agree…even if it wasn’t exactly what I was after, I liked it immediately

      March 4, 2012 at 7:57 am

  9. To me it looks like the skier is actually on a bicycle. Great capture.

    March 4, 2012 at 6:58 am

  10. I can feel the wind shooting by in this one!

    March 4, 2012 at 7:07 am

    • Thanks Patti – glad you can get that feeling!

      March 4, 2012 at 8:00 am

  11. Amar Naik

    nice distorted image
    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2012/03/03/weekly-photo-challenge-distorted/

    March 4, 2012 at 9:38 am

  12. Good interpretation.

    Please drop by and view my interpretation of Distorted:
    f-stop fantasy: https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/

    March 4, 2012 at 2:11 pm

  13. Great photo. I agree with the comment about it looking like a painting.
    http://withoutthew.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/weekly-photo-challenge-distorted/

    March 8, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • Thanks Brandy! I think you’re right…except that I can’t paint that well

      March 8, 2012 at 11:55 am

Leave a Reply

