Sharing moments in time…

Let’s go diving!


So today I return to the “planned” itinerary in Fiji – the scuba diving part which wasn’t really affected by the weather.  Actually for the ten days that we were diving, the weather was pretty good except for a squall or two which ended up just providing our rainbows for the day.  We did most of our diving between the Vuna reef which was very close to the Paradise Resort, and the Rainbow reef which actually shelters another nearby island.  While I would not classify the diving as among the best we have seen, it was very enjoyable nonetheless – especially for those of us who hadn’t “blown bubbles’ for over a year.  Of course I was also trying out a completely new underwater camera setup so it was fun to experiment with that and learn how to use it.  I’ll start off this series with a subject that is always one of my favorites – the anenome fish or clown fish – forever immortalized by “Finding Nemo”.  There are several different types of these fish so this won’t be the last that you see of them.  These guys are always fun to photograph as they are always darting in an out of the “anenome forest” that they hide in.  It always more luck than skill when you can get a clear shot of one.  PS – double click on this little guy to get a view of his little teeth!

Hide and Seek - you're it!

11 responses

  1. Perhaps not quite so innocuous as he looks. I have no desire to scuba dive – I think I’d get claustrophobic – sky diving would be more my thing. So since I’ll never experience this myself – I’m along for the ride.

    April 12, 2012 at 11:03 am

    • Thanks Lynne – I would encourage you to consider scuba – it may be claustrophobic in bad visibility or in an enclosed area (like a pool when you are learning) but in the open water on good visibility it is an amazing vista!

      April 12, 2012 at 12:18 pm

  2. Beautiful photo, and love the teeth!

    April 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

    • I had never noticed them before but he looks like a little piranha want-to-be….

      April 12, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      • It makes me rethink that adorable little Nemo 🙂

        April 12, 2012 at 1:43 pm

  3. What a beautiful photo – and would be a hit with fans of Nemo 🙂

    April 12, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    • Thanks Colline! I really love to watch these little guys go about their business.

      April 12, 2012 at 4:31 pm

  4. Thank you for sharing, I enjoyed!

    April 13, 2012 at 7:01 am

  5. WOW !

    June 5, 2012 at 3:31 am

    • Thanks Helen – I think my shot was easier than your mouse adventure!

      June 5, 2012 at 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

