Sharing moments in time…

Fijian Waterfalls


The Fijian islands have many, many waterfalls due to their mountainous nature and the amount of rainfall they get – especially during the rainy season as it was when we were there.  We had the opportunity to visit several different waterfalls.  The two that I will highlight here are both on the island of Taveuni and are very close to each other.  The first photo is the highest (in elevation) and smallest (in vertical measurement of the waterfall) of 3 falls in the area known as Bouma.  To my eye, this is the prettiest of the 3 falls there.

"upper" Bouma falls

The second photo shows the first waterfall you come to at Bouma – and the tallest.  The water was about 75 degrees Fahrenheit and was refreshing when compared to the air temperature most days (about 84 degrees) and the water temperature of the ocean when we were diving (also about 84 degrees).

"lower" Bouma falls

13 responses

  1. Wow – what a wonderful shot of a waterfall. 🙂

    April 29, 2012 at 10:54 am

    • They were definitely worth the walk to see…

      April 29, 2012 at 12:43 pm

      • Reminds me of a waterfall I went to visit in the UK. I visited this one in Dartmoor National Park which is in between the cities, Plymouth and Exeter. I will upload some of my snapshots too. However, mine are not as good as yours. The day I visited, rainfall had not been excessive and so therefore the fall itself was not much more than a dribble! I did get some great shots of the lake below with all the ducklings 🙂

        April 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm

      • I’m glad I could evoke some good memories. I’ve heard Dartmoor is very nice – although I’ve never been there.

        April 29, 2012 at 5:37 pm

  2. Beautiful! I’d love to visit…

    April 29, 2012 at 11:20 am

    • I highly recommend Fiji Finola – any of the islands!

      April 29, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  3. Muy bonito! Very beautiful waterfalls…one i will visit your country……

    April 29, 2012 at 11:40 am

    • Pablo – these are not in my country, they are in Fiji – a great place to visit!

      April 29, 2012 at 12:45 pm

  4. Wish I could go swimming …

    April 29, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    • A little cold for me – I got spoiled by the 84 degree ocean.

      April 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

  5. dianne

    such beautiful waterfalls

    May 1, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    • They were – and there were many others!

      May 1, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  6. love your 2nd shot! That looks like so much fun! Ahhh in a Fiji state of mind (again)

    May 1, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

