Sharing moments in time…

Osprey Landing….


This is one of those “almost” photos – it was almost a really good photo.  I took this about a week ago at Lake Hodges which is about 25 miles from San Diego.  I went out to try and get some photos of Grebes doing their iconic mating ritual but there wasn’t anything going on.  I spotted this Osprey flying around looking for fish so I thought I’d see it I could get either a good fishing shot or see if I could catch his take-offs or landings.  Luckily, I was able to get directly under where he landed after one of his trips.  He launched again and circled around and came back to the same tree where I was waiting with my camera.  Thats where my luck kind of ended – Although I got several shots of him coming in, I did not have the exposure quite right for shooting up into the sky, I didn’t really nail the focus, and I also chopped off his tail in the best of my shots.  All that being said, I still like the photo for its dynamic action and the feeling of power in the outstretched talons.  Hope you like it too- despite the technical shortcomings….

Get a Grip!

10 responses

  1. dianne

    magnificent capture

    May 1, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    • Thanks Diane – really glad you liked it despite the imperfections…

      May 1, 2012 at 1:02 pm

  2. Scott, you’re so honest and humble in this post. Sometimes it is the experience of the photo capture that makes the shot, and I think this is a case in point. You’ve pulled us in to understanding your situation 🙂

    May 1, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • Thanks Marina! I really appreciate your comment and I’m glad you felt you were “in” the experience. It was a really nice opportunity that “almost” worked as planned but was well worthwhile anyway. Besides – the Osprey didn’t seem to care one way or the other….:-)

      May 1, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      • it’s better that they don’t care! the last thing you need is a unstable model.

        May 1, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  3. Not an easy-every-day photo… which makes it captivating. If I can’t aim correctly (lack of light, subject too fast, etc) I always try to widen the toom setting to something that captures more “air” into the picture. It’s easy to crop it afterwards.
    But that often workis in theory only…

    May 2, 2012 at 5:14 am

  4. Brilliant shot!

    May 3, 2012 at 6:02 am

    • Thanks – Its a special moment when you can miss the shot you were after but still enjoy the result!

      May 5, 2012 at 1:49 pm

  5. Jackie Cangro

    Wow! Look at the talons. That’s awe inspiring – as is your photo!

    May 5, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • Thanks Jackie. Their talons are incredible – its no wonder they don’t often miss when they go after something.

      May 5, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

