Sharing moments in time…

Why isn’t this bear black?


I must admit that I thought that all Black Bears were actually black – what a concept!  Obviously I was wrong as proven by this cinnamon colored “black” bear.  I was coming around a corner in a driving rain storm when I hit a “Bear jam” on the road.  I immediately parked and ran to the center of attention, just in time to see this bear running across the road and start up a hill.  I managed to click off a few shots as he ran up the hill.  The light wasn’t good, the rain was coming down, and the wind made handheld shots very difficult but I did get at least this shot of the mis-colored bear.

Colorblind Bear – my first Black Bear photo!

I did see several actual Brown (Grizzly) Bears, but all at great distances.  I wasn’t too disappointed in that as our trip to Alaska is coming up quickly…..

15 responses

  1. I’d love to see a bear! That’s a cool shot… and you’re off the Alaska?! Where to next Scott?

    June 2, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    • Hi Marina – off to Hallo Bay in Alaska the end of this month to commune with the Brown (Grizzly) Bears and, hopefully, Wolves. In late July we do our annual Backpacking trip in the Sierras, and then in October we go to hike the French Riviera and other places. We’ll probably get one more trip in this year but we haven’t picked a place yet.

      June 3, 2012 at 9:10 am

      • fantastic itinerary! looking forward to following your adventures 🙂 My sister was just in Cannes; I received a postcard from there today. The French Riviera should be a great trip!

        June 3, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      • Thanks Marina – I’m looking forward to the Riviera (never been there) – but to tell you the truth, this year’s Bear trip will probably be the highlight of the year – being with those creatures is an incredibly special experience.

        June 3, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  2. Really? Why can’t he be called Brown Bear?

    June 3, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • Madhu, This bear is actually a Black Bear – that is the species, not the color. I actually thought all of that species was Black but I was obviously wrong. Brown Bears (the species) are also known as Grizzly Bears (are mostly different shades of brown) and are much larger. If you go back to some of my photos from august of last year (or wait until next month), those were all Brown Bears. I hope that clears up what I meant by my post – it just surprised me. 🙂

      June 3, 2012 at 9:18 am

  3. I had no idea that “black bears” were really brown. What a misnomer. I’ll look forward to your coming photos of grizzlies to compare the two. How big would you say that adult black bears get on average?

    June 4, 2012 at 3:31 am

    • Jackie,
      I guess they can be either color but with Black being more common. The males can get up to about 500 lbs as they put on weight in the summer. For comparison, the Brown (grizzly) bears can often grow to 1500 lbs.!

      June 4, 2012 at 8:25 am

  4. purpleowltree1234

    What a Beautiful bear~!! He looks so Fluffy! 🙂 He looks like if I was quiet and gentle he’d love a cuddle! 🙂 Heheehee
    Rach.

    June 4, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Rach,
      He was moving pretty fast and didn’t look like he wanted any “lov’in”. We hope to see many more bears, up close and personal, and spend a lot more time with them later this month in Alaska

      June 4, 2012 at 5:29 pm

  5. autisticaplanet

    Nonetheless, you got a gem of a picture. When I study the body shape, it is a Black Bear’s. You learn something new everyday.

    June 6, 2012 at 4:57 am

    • Allison – yup, it is definitely a black bear body and face. I expect to get some really good Brown (Grizzly) bear photos in early July in Alaska…. 🙂

      June 6, 2012 at 7:14 am

  6. Color phase black bears are always fun to see, deff more common in bears out west but very pretty none the less

    June 6, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    • Jason,
      I was glad to catch it as I didn’t have any black bear photos!

      June 6, 2012 at 12:31 pm

  7. Pingback: The One with the Wanderlust | Jackie Cangro

Leave a Reply

