Sharing moments in time…

Yellowstone falls, canyon, and yours truly


Thought I’d show a little more of the Yellowstone national park scenery.  These shots are from the central area of the park.  The first photo shows the Yellowstone falls – a spectacular sight.

Spectacular Falls

The second photo shows what they call the grand canyon of Yellowstone.  It shows the falls in the background but also shows the pure scope of the canyon that the falls and river have carved into the countryside.

Canyon and Clouds

And lastly, here is an infrequent photo of myself.  It was taken by a very personable park ranger by the name of Mark.  I apologize to all for ruining the scenery….!

Beauty and the Beast??

22 responses

  1. Well, Yellowstone is a bit of a beast too, so you go together well.

    Seriously, I love Yellowstone and would love going back for a third visit. We stayed at Canyon both times, and I love hiking in that area.

    I like that there’s still some snow left by the bottom of the fall, makes it look even more impressive.

    June 3, 2012 at 10:07 am

    • Eva – This was only my second visit to Yellowstone and it is indeed a Beast of a park – along with a lot of beasties inside it! I didn’t hike as much as I would have liked as the weather in the Northeast corner (where I spent most of my time) was very unstable (snow, hail, rain, wind, with just a touch of sunshine…). You can tell by my hands in pockets that it was cold and there was still a fair amount of snow on the ground and in the trees.

      June 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm

  2. etexbill

    Beautiful pics. By the way, you look as if you could be my “long lost cousin”. 🙂

    http://www.places-seldom-traveled.com

    June 3, 2012 at 10:42 am

    • Thanks Cousin! I didn’t know I had any relatives in Texas.

      June 3, 2012 at 1:10 pm

  3. The scenes are breathtaking!

    June 3, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    • Thanks Colline – they are definitely impressive in person.

      June 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm

  4. I’m really enjoying your photos of Yellowstone. A friend and I are considering going there next year and your images make it all the more enticing.
    You mentioned that it was still very cold when you were there. Would you recommend to wait until June or July? Or does the park get crowded in those months?

    June 4, 2012 at 3:34 am

    • Jackie,
      The weather ranged from the high twenties to the low seventies while I was there – constantly changing. I am a big fan of going places when they are “off peak”. Yellowstone is an incredibly well set up park for enjoying the environment but I know that it gets very crowded in the summer. I actually think that I picked a very good time to go – any earlier and many of the roads are questionable (and supporting shops and eateries may not be open yet), any later and the crowds start to build.

      June 4, 2012 at 8:22 am

      • Thank you for the great tips! I think I’d prefer the off peak times as well. I’ll make sure to be prepared for wide temperature swings.

        June 4, 2012 at 10:18 am

      • Jackie, I think you’ll like it – lots more freedom to roam and more chance to see the animals as well as the other sites. If you’re interested, I can send you what my itinerary was and where I stayed, etc….

        June 4, 2012 at 11:42 am

      • That would be wonderful. Thank you so much! I’ve been interested in going to Yellowstone for a few years now but every time I think about planning a trip I get a little overwhelmed by the prospect. The park is so big and the topography so varied, I’m never quite sure how to tackle it all.

        June 6, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  5. Awesome! Love the first one.

    June 4, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • Madhu – Is a beautiful place. If the sun is out, the falls create great rainbows (unfortunately, I didn’t see much sun that day)

      June 4, 2012 at 11:51 am

  6. Love Yellowstone

    June 4, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    • Melody,
      It is an incredible place on many different levels – scenery, geothermal/volcanic activity, wildlife, ….

      June 4, 2012 at 4:26 pm

  7. purpleowltree1234

    Cool! I’ve always wondered what Yellowstone National Park looked like. A friend I grew up with (as expats) in the Philippines, Bryan Lynip, was camping in Yellowstone park when he was around 10 yrs old with his family and a bear came and got him in his tent, in his sleeping bag. Bryan got away amazingly. Bryan had hundreds of stitches down his Left arm. His dad saved his life with immediate medical assistance (his dad’s a Dr). I’ve always wondered what Yellowstone looked like.
    Rach (Australian).

    June 4, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Wow Rach – that is quite a story, you have a lucky friend. None of the bears I saw were that close or that interested in people.

      June 4, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  8. Looking good Scott! And the waterfalls do ok 😉 Great series

    June 5, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  9. autisticaplanet

    I have relatives in MT. Due to sensory issues, travel is very difficult for me. Photography is my way of traveling. I enjoy nature/landscape pictures from around the world, but esp. our National Parks here in the U.S. I’d post my better photos on my blog, but still weary of theft. Any ideas? How do you get your name on the picture?

    June 6, 2012 at 4:55 am

    • Allison, Montana and Wyoming are great photographic areas. As far as theft – I haven’t been too concerned about it and anyone who has wanted to use any of my photos has contacted me first. I do watermark my images with name and date but try to keep it small and unobtrusive on the image. I use a simple and inexpensive application called “image bucket” on my Mac to add the watermark. There are many other ways to do it, but that is the easiest that I have found. Hope that helps.

      June 6, 2012 at 7:12 am

  10. dianne

    Yellowstone is beautiful, and you look great.. : )

    June 10, 2012 at 3:40 am

    • Thanks Dianne – The Yellowstone scenery can even improve my aging visage 🙂

      June 10, 2012 at 9:47 am

Leave a Reply

