Sharing moments in time…

Oh Deer!


Thats kind of what I envision this mule deer’s thought must have been when he saw me watching.  I drove past a rocky streamed and just caught a quick sight of the white spot on the backside of this deer.  I went down the road a bit, pulled a  “u ” turn and came back to get a couple of shots.  While deer are pretty common sights throughout much of the US and are very  numerous within Yellowstone, I am always drawn to them and never pass up a chance to get a few pics.

Does my rear-end look big to you?

As I watched, I guess I spooked them a little so they crossed the creek bed and went back into the woods.  I like this second shot as I think it shows the incredible balance and dexterity these animals have when crossing difficult terrain.  It doesn’t seem compatible with their hooves and the seemingly delicate build of their legs but they are certainly sure-footed!

Balanced Beast

10 responses

  1. purpleowltree1234

    They are so magnificent, graceful, gentle-looking. I adore deers. 🙂
    rach.

    June 5, 2012 at 11:48 am

    • Thanks Rach – I always love to see them, no matter where I am.

      June 5, 2012 at 11:53 am

  2. Lovely ! so delicate and beautiful.

    June 5, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    • Niki, I don’t think there is any such thing as a bad looking deer.

      June 5, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      • I agree 🙂

        June 5, 2012 at 4:06 pm

  3. Very beautiful! That’s like me with squirrels – they’re all over the place, but I can’t resist them 🙂

    June 5, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    • I use squirrel pictures to keep the dogs energized. They are world renowned squirrel fighters (or at least barkers).

      June 5, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  4. looks like a baby buck!

    June 6, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    • Jason, I think the second deer has the beginnings of some antlers?

      June 6, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

