Sharing moments in time…

Generations


Another reason to go to Yellowstone in the spring is the chance to see the new generation of Buffalo (Bison) exploring their new world and enjoying the care (and sometimes discipline) of their parents as they frolic around.  Here, father and child have a quiet moment…

I wanna be just like you…..

I liked this shot of three youngsters – it just looked to me like they were plotting some mischief – as youngsters of all species do….

“…then you bite his hind leg and ……”

 

8 responses

  1. great shots Scott

    June 6, 2012 at 8:54 am

    • Joanna – the bison are the easiest of the animals in Yellowstone to photograph, they are huge, most of the time don’t move too fast, aren’t shy with people, and have lots of calves running around! What did surprise me was how crazy some of the people were – getting within a couple of feet of them. I guess they didn’t figure that a full grown bison can easily outrun a person and that they weigh as much as some cars!

      June 6, 2012 at 11:24 am

      • Those fools! you’ll never know what a grown bison would do if they think there calves are in danger! I know what you mean…
        curious to your adventures in Yellowstone.I expect there is more to come?

        June 6, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      • Joanna – definitely more from Yellowstone to come!

        June 6, 2012 at 3:36 pm

  2. OK – so you obviously must must be lucky enough to live near Yellow Stone. You see these shots from off the road or you drive through the park?

    June 6, 2012 at 10:43 am

    • Carol,
      I actually live in San Diego – exactly 1046 miles from Yellowstone (I checked on the return trip which took me 15 hours to drive). I hadn’t been there for 15 or 20 years so I wanted to go (with my cameras) and wanted to beat the crowds. It was a great trip (and a good warm-up for Alaska) but now I’m relegated to beach pictures (I just got back from taking some in La Jolla). I still have lots to share from “up north” – I think next week will be “Wolf Week”.

      PS – all of my pics from Yellowstone were from just driving around in the park, spotting something and going to get the shot.

      June 6, 2012 at 11:30 am

  3. Pingback: Friday Five – The Wanderlust Edition | Jacquelin Cangro

  4. Pingback: The One with the Wanderlust | Jackie Cangro

Leave a Reply

