Sharing moments in time…

Welcome to Wolf Week – My wolf in the wild photo


One of my hopes in going to Yellowstone was to be one of the lucky few to see a wolf in the wild.  I had seen wolves before (in Alaska) but had yet to take a good photo of one.  My fallback was going to be a visit to the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center in West Yellowstone.  As it turns out, on my last day in the park I got up early (about 5 am) and went out into the Lamar Valley.  I was intending to find a yellow SUV that locals had told me was a guy who tracks wolves (by their radio collars) for the park every day.  I got out there took a few pictures of other things and had stopped by some folks with huge spotting scopes to see what they were looking at.  At that moment a car pulled up and let us know that there was a wolf sighting just off the road a couple of hundred yards away.  Needless to say, I bolted to where the crowd was starting to gather and got to see a wolf cross a grassy field.  I got a few shots but mostly wolf rear ends and wolf parts obscured by grass.  Just when I thought that wolf was gone, a second wolf started to run across the same area.  Again, not a lot of great photos but I did manage to get this shot of the wolf highlighted against the morning sun in the grass.

Morning Wolf Silhouette

We actually saw three wolves in that pack that morning but many of the views were in deep shadows, obscured by the terrain and foliage, or very far away.  In spite of all that, it was exciting to see them.  When the “wolf tracker” showed up in the crowd, he told us this was a pack that lived in a den just down the road from where we were and that the ones we saw were two adults (with radio collars) and a yearling that hadn’t been collared yet.

I hope you liked this wild shot (I believe this was the yearling).  The other wolf photos I’ll post this week are from the discovery center but I hope you’ll be interested in some of the things that I learned there.  Have a great Monday!

13 responses

  1. What a lucky shot. I think it must be thrilling to see a wolf in the wild. I understand that Yellowstone in the winter is amazing. That is if you can stand the cold. Thank you for the photos.
    Judy

    June 11, 2012 at 11:59 am

    • Thanks Judy! It was a great opportunity. I think Yellowstone is great at any time. I picked the late spring for less people but open roads….

      OBTW – going to visit your beautiful country in Oct – hiking on the Riviera.

      June 11, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      • In October I will be back in California. We return to Provence in November to pick olives. You will love wandering the Rivera.

        June 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      • Judy,
        We are looking forward to the Riviera – probably not much wildlife other than the human kind but I will adjust my lenses accordingly. Hope you might enjoy some of our “visitor” stories from you homeland – be sure to keep me straight!

        June 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

  2. What a beautiful shot. I am enjoying your Yellowstone photos so very much (especially the wolf ones – but I’m biased!)!

    June 12, 2012 at 2:53 am

    • Thanks Dounia! I enjoyed to trip – it will be a great precursor to Alaska!

      June 12, 2012 at 10:29 am

  3. That’s an awesome shot – it looks so peaceful! I do like your use of depth of field (one of my fave things to experiment with!)

    June 12, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • Thanks Marina!
      It was a beautiful, quiet, cool and peaceful morning. The wolves, even though they were obviously aware that people were watching them, seemed pretty calm also. I took this purposely at the max aperture I had available with my longest lens and with a shutter speed of 1250 to minimize movement issues. Its not the best wolf shot but it still has some things to convey – or at least I (and you) think so.

      June 13, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      • I think it reflects what you saw really well Scott 🙂

        June 13, 2012 at 2:23 pm

  4. I love your series of photos! I saw them backward… LOL

    June 14, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    • Rumpy – thats okay, they are pretty much posted in the reverse order I took them also.. 🙂 That makes you right and all those “People” wrong

      June 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

  5. I liked your photo very much, a very good shot. I love wolves and would love to see one in the wild. This one looked very calm and content if that is a word you can use for wolves.

    June 14, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    • I think you caught the mood exactly – the wolf was patient and took its time despite the “watchers” below.

      June 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

