Sharing moments in time…

Joseph – the Omega Wolf


Joseph is the last ranking wolf in the pack even though he is another gorgeous animal as can be seen in this photo.

Poor Joseph

As I said yesterday, I was at the Center during feeding time – it turns out that is not the same as an actual feeding.  Let me try and explain the feeding time process.  At the appointed hour, a door to a small room is opened for the wolves to enter.  The key is that ALL of the wolves must enter for the door to be closed and the food to be placed out in the wolves normal environment.  The food is normally elk meat and it is put in areas of the enclosure for the wolves to “hunt” and find.  Sometimes the small creek that runs through their environment is stocked with fish for the wolves to catch.  On the evening that I was there, Akela (the Alpha with the attitude) would not allow poor Joseph to enter the room.  She was making the decision for the pack that they were not going to eat that night.  After Joseph made numerous attempts to get into the room, it was obvious that “the attitude” was not going to let that happen and the room was closed to the wolves.  It was really interesting then to watch as Joseph, tail between his legs, did everything he could think of to make up with the boss.  There was the licking that I highlighted in the Challenge photo last week, attempts at playing, and then this gentle pawing of Akela as if to say “ah come-on….”.

“I’m hungry boss…I’ll do anything…”

Nothing seemed to work but the pack quickly went back to their normal interactions content to wait for tomorrow for another chance to eat.

14 responses

  1. How fascinating! He really is a handsome specimen! Poor fella 😦

    June 13, 2012 at 8:09 am

    • The pecking order of the wolves is really interesting to watch. Even without guides there, it only took a moment or two to figure out who was in charge and who was the one that got dumped on…. 🙂

      June 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm

  2. jumpingpolarbear

    Those wolves look cute and scary :).

    June 13, 2012 at 8:25 am

    • They are both – the emphasis was on cute as we had this big window between us and them…..

      June 13, 2012 at 1:35 pm

  3. Anjana

    That is so cool! I bet i will never get to see all the things that you do.

    June 13, 2012 at 10:05 am

    • Anjana,
      I have been immensely blessed to be able to see and experience the things that I have so far – I can tell you I never imagined being in this position. I will also tell you that it brings me great pleasure to be able to share it with people such as you!!

      June 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  4. This information about the wolves is really fascinating. I hope you will have more stories.

    June 13, 2012 at 11:24 am

    • Judy – Thank you and I am thrilled that you find the wolves and their behavior as interesting as I did. I am always on the prowl for more stories – I hope to have many after our Alaska expedition 🙂

      June 13, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  5. The way of nature is wonderful. Keeps the balance

    June 13, 2012 at 1:53 pm

  6. He really is gorgeous…thanks!

    June 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm

  7. Anjana

    Reblogged this on lemonyjazz and commented:
    This guy is extremely lucky to see things like this… Check out his blog at scottseyephotos.wordpress.com

    June 16, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

