Sharing moments in time…

Don’t get too close!


I thought I’d end our look at the Wolves with a close-up in case anyone wanted to feel like a deer being hunted 🙂  It was a real pleasure to be able to observe the wolves at close range.  I think you’ll agree that these are magnificent animals.

Stare down …..she won

I hadn’t included any photos from the other “mountain” pack of wolves at the center – here’s one of McKinley the Alpha Male of that pack.  He is the biggest of all of the wolves at the center (at 120 lbs.)

McKinley – Lord of the Mountain Pack

24 responses

  1. Wow!! Where was this?

    June 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

    • Ajay,
      The photos were taken at the Grizzly and Wolf discovery center in West Yellowstone, Montana

      June 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

  2. Gorgeous pics

    June 14, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • Thanks Dan,
      I hope to get some more up your way (Hallo Bay, Alaska) in two weeks.

      June 14, 2012 at 10:48 am

      • Awesome! I look forward to seeing the pics.

        June 14, 2012 at 11:01 am

  3. Wow, those pictures are awesome…kind of chilling! Great work! So glad I stumbled upon your blog, totally going to follow now! 🙂 Aims from http://www.aimsphotos.wordpress.com

    June 14, 2012 at 10:47 am

    • Hi Aims! Welcome to my photos – glad you tuned in – its always nice when another photographer enjoys what you’ve done. OBTW – the B&W photo of the young girl with the kitty is outstanding!

      June 14, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  4. They are beautiful! Must be relatives of mine.

    June 14, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    • Rumpy – they sure look like relatives!

      June 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  5. Reblogged this on Blogging from the Mas and commented:
    Scott’s stories and photos of the wolves in Yellowstone are fabulous. But the close up picture of the wolf is my favorite. Thank you Scott

    June 14, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    • Thanks for the plug Judy. The close up is one of my favorites also.

      June 14, 2012 at 4:15 pm

      • Are there any wolves left in France? I think I once heard that there might be some in Siberia. You will see other canines in the south of France all attached to people.

        June 15, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      • Judy, I saw a 2011 article that said there were about 200 wolves making a comeback in France after they were put on the endangered species list.

        June 15, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  6. Gorgeous animals!

    June 14, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    • Thanks Carol – looks like you’re making good progress on your trip West….

      June 14, 2012 at 4:20 pm

  7. dianne

    i agree, magnificent animals, gorgouse photos of them.. : )

    June 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

  8. Your photos of wolves have been a real treat. They are amazing and impressive animals. I’m glad that you got the opportunity to see them up close and personal (or as close as one would care to get to a wolf). I hope I get to see them also.

    June 14, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • Thanks Jackie – I hope you get to see them also – it is a treat.

      June 14, 2012 at 6:29 pm

  9. Hi Scott, I really enjoyed this series. Thanks!

    June 16, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    • Cathy – my pleasure thank you. I enjoyed reading about “Abuelito” – a great rememberance.

      June 16, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      • Thanks, so much, Scott!

        June 16, 2012 at 1:20 pm

  10. Pingback: The One with the Wanderlust | Jackie Cangro

Leave a Reply

