Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Close


I was out today and didn’t see the challenge subject until a few minutes ago.  I thought I might have some photos from a walk on the beach in La Jolla last week so I’ll try a couple of those…..

The first subject definitely hit me as being a “close” relationship between father and son….

“Daddy..what are we looking at??”

The second one is a “close-up” of a pidgeon that was sitting on a sand shelf down by the water.  I was trying to get the beautiful color of the eye in a “head shot” with the dark shadowed background to provide contrast….

Colorful pest?

Lastly, I’ll include this shot of a ground squirrel from that same walk.  I apologize to those who have seen similar shots of mine in the past but I can never bypass these cute little guys – especially when they let me get this…..yup , you got it……CLOSE

“Get that thing out of my face!”

27 responses

  1. Good shots. The top one is the tops.

    June 15, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  2. reb

    All three are just adorable …and great shots too!

    June 15, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • Thanks Reb! I liked your marmot family shot.

      June 16, 2012 at 8:47 am

  3. Good eye for the closeness today !
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    June 15, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks Siggi! Hope all is well with you!

      June 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

  4. Lovely close ones

    June 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  5. Love them all. Your captions are perfect too 🙂

    June 16, 2012 at 1:36 am

    • Thanks Madhu! I always try to imagine what is going on in my subject’s minds

      June 16, 2012 at 8:49 am

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: CLOSE… | Mirth and Motivation

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Close « Mike Hardisty Photography

  8. Love the first photo!

    June 16, 2012 at 4:51 am

    • Thanks Julliane – they were really cute together on this nice morning.

      June 16, 2012 at 8:51 am

  9. Your caption for the squirrel is hysterical. Great photos all.
    Eliz

    June 16, 2012 at 6:17 am

    • Thanks Eliz! Squirrels are alway bad-mouthing me…..

      June 16, 2012 at 8:53 am

      • 😆 I hear you… now I know why the ones in my yard don’t say hello when I wave. They are probably bad-mouthing me too! 🙂

        June 16, 2012 at 8:55 am

  10. Great shots! All perfect fits for the theme.

    June 16, 2012 at 6:42 pm

  11. nice shots…love those last two captures

    June 17, 2012 at 12:27 am

    • Thanks Jo – as you know I always gravitate towards the animals to convey most of these challenges – i guess I’m in a rut…

      June 17, 2012 at 11:26 am

  12. Amazing close up of the pigeon. Being from NYC, we try to stay away from pigeons as much as possible, but this one almost looks friendly.

    June 17, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • Hi Jackie,
      Being an ex-Jersey boy, I understand your feeling about pigeons. At the beach around here, they are pretty calm and accessible. This one caught my eye just because of the light highlighting his face and especially his beautiful eyes.

      June 18, 2012 at 9:10 am

  13. How did you get this close to the ground squirrel? This is so adorable!!

    June 17, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    • RR – I’d love to tell you that this was a tough shot but the squirrels at the beach in La Jolla are very used to people and more or less pose if approach them slowly.

      June 18, 2012 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

