Sharing moments in time…

Another new creature – the Badger


When I left for Yellowstone, I knew that there were Badgers there but I really didn’t expect to see one or be able to photograph one.  That changed as I was driving through the Lamar Valley scanning the hillside for animals and noticed some movement in a small grass field surrounded by taller brush.  I thought that it was a marmot at first but it seemed to be lower to the ground and definitely different coloring with more black.  I was thrilled as I got my camera up and clearly saw that it was a Badger.

He looked surprised to see me also….

I was also a little surprised as I thought these guys were nocturnal (they are)  – but there he was.  By the time I got just a couple of shots, he meandered back into the long brush and was gone.  As I got back in my car I was surprised to see that I had caused a small “badger jam” as at least 5 other cars had stopped and their occupants were scrambling to get cameras out focused.

Badger beats feet to escape from the arriving photogs…..

It is always a thrill to not only see an animal that I haven’t seen in the wild before but also get a few decent shots in – lucky is good.

10 responses

  1. Awesome luck! They must have been terrified though 🙂

    June 18, 2012 at 9:30 am

    • Madhu – we were actually far enough away that he was interested but not too afraid.

      June 18, 2012 at 9:33 am

      • Just kidding 🙂 I once declared that seeing a tiger in the wild was my only dream, and was told it might not be the tiger’s to see me! Will not be giving up on my dream though 🙂

        June 18, 2012 at 9:39 am

  2. Awesome…don’t think I’ve ever seen a Badger…and coming from the Badger state, too !
    Appreciate the photos.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    June 18, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Thanks Siggi – It was a welcome surprise to me.

      June 18, 2012 at 1:07 pm

  3. Badgers are different and interesting creatures

    June 18, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  4. Your right, its amazing to get to see an animal you have never seen before, great pictures!

    June 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • Hdude – thank you. The adventure continues….next week Alaska

      June 18, 2012 at 4:12 pm

  5. Awesome! I still crave for the ever allusive raccoon! LOL

    June 18, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    • Carol,
      Me too! We have them here in our urban canyon but haven’t managed a shot of one yet…but then again, I don’t normally have my camera out and ready at night.

      June 19, 2012 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

