Sharing moments in time…

Photographing the Photographer…


A frequent happening in Yellowstone was that if you pulled to the side in one of the turnouts on the road, other folks would also stop and ask what you were taking pictures of.  Thats what happened here.  I was taking photos of these bison, the mountains behind and their reflections in the lake.  This very nice gentleman from Germany asked me what I was taking and I showed him one of my bison reflection photos.  He liked the idea so he went down closer to the lake to take a similar photo.  Just as he was getting ready, the bison formed a very nice line and started to walk away in formation.  I took another picture of the bison and their reflection but I also took this one including my German friend – I think I actually like this one better than just the bison…..

Reflections

10 responses

  1. Awesome reflection.

    June 20, 2012 at 8:36 am

  2. This made me chuckle because that is what I did the other day at a house concert. Photographed the photographer…not the first time the photographer has become a subject !
    Great shot of the whole scene !
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    June 20, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • Thanks Siggi – I’m sure I’ve probably ended up in other photographers shots also….and then hopefully got cropped out

      June 20, 2012 at 1:40 pm

  3. You did not crop out the photographer so why would others do it!. Real lovely action photo

    June 20, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    • Thanks Scrapy – Its unusual when I leave something like that in my photos….but I liked this one.

      June 20, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  4. This is a great shot, especially with your words to give us context. The reflection is really cool.

    June 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    • Thanks Marina – it was nice of the buffalo to decide to line up like that.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

  5. Lovely! I like this “perspective in a perspective” kind of stuff. Like a photographer in a photo, a writer in a novel etc. And this one is just perfect with the bisons too 🙂

    June 21, 2012 at 1:09 am

    • RR – Thanks! I love the comparison to writers.

      June 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

