Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Create


I thought this was a very interesting challenge because the concept of creating is so mysterious or at least not commonly understood.  In the end I turned to my own living room again for my photo.  This is a simple (not very good) photo of my guitars in their cabinet.  The reason I chose this photo (which I took 5 minutes ago) is that it contains 3 focal points for creativity – at least for me.  I love great instruments and am lucky to have 3 luthier (custom guitar maker) built guitars – the three on the left of the photo.  These were assembled by hand using traditional tools and methods and the instruments are incredible displays of woodworking skills.  Even more importantly, the guitars each have their own “voice” carefully crafted and tuned by the luthier – while the woodworking is a skill, the voicing is a real talent that is very hard to find.  The combination of the skills and talent led to the creation of these magnificent instruments.

A creation, holding 4 creations which I (hopefully) can use to create music….

The case itself is another creation.  It was hand crafted by a good friend of mine and contains an environmental control system to keep the guitars safe and happy.  I haven’t seen another case that rivals this one for functionality, quality, and beauty in its own right.

Last but not least is the fact that I use these creations of other people to try and create music.  While I have some skills I have developed over time, I don’t have what I would consider talent so it is a constant struggle but one I enjoy.  And every once in a while, when least expected, I do make sounds which could loosely be described as musical creations…..remember, I said loosely.

24 responses

  1. As a listener, I enjoys enjoy the sounds created by music. And these guitars really are beautiful creations of their own, aren’t they?

    June 22, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    • I am unfortunately, better at picking and buying them than I am at playing them….but still working at it!

      June 22, 2012 at 2:37 pm

  2. Awesome photo of created guitars

    June 22, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  3. All that exquisit woodwork in one place, you are a lucky man!

    June 22, 2012 at 3:20 pm

  4. Awesome…thanks for sharing…haven’t seen anything like that before…
    Peace,
    Siggi in Dowenast Maine

    June 22, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    • Siggi – they are great instruments. Even though I have seen them made,it astounds me that someone can create things that sing out of pieces of wood.

      June 22, 2012 at 8:40 pm

  5. They are beautiful and I can appreciate the skills involved in making and playing them!

    June 23, 2012 at 12:42 am

    • Thanks Gilly! I know the people who built them and they are also incredible and interesting people.

      June 23, 2012 at 8:24 am

  6. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE : CREATE « 2012 – ON THE BENCH

  7. Wow! Don’t know much about guitars, and these look beautiful, but that cabinet sure seems well crafted! And you are so talented I have no doubt you are just being modest about your playing skills 🙂

    June 23, 2012 at 2:39 am

    • Thanks Madhu – the guitars are spectacular – my playing, not so much….

      June 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

  8. What a wonderful example of creation. Now I’d like to hear the music!

    June 23, 2012 at 4:05 am

    • Jude – Be careful what you ask for…I’ve been toying with home recording something and posting it.

      June 23, 2012 at 8:27 am

  9. The craftsmanship of the guitars is a work of art and the way they are hanging in the case allows you to really admire them the way you would a fine painting.
    But at least this work of art you get to take out and enjoy.

    June 23, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    • Jackie,
      Those were my thoughts exactly – I couldn’t bear to keep these creations in cases where no-one could see them.

      June 23, 2012 at 5:43 pm

  10. that case is awesome Scott. so glad you have them displayed as such…showing their worth

    June 23, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  11. Hi Scott. I REALLY appreciate this post. The guitars are exquisite! Dreadnought and cutaway – I am imagining the sound!
    Here are two of my recent posts. My own “creative” entry didn’t involve music, but another recent post did. I’m with one of my pals named Taylor. 🙂

    http://wp.me/s1OXNv-create

    http://wp.me/s1OXNv-today

    June 23, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    • Cathy – Loved them both but especially the guitar piece. I hadn’t heard that song in years – I may have to put that into my “repertoire”. If you lived around here, we would have to get together for duets. I think our voices would blend nicely – although yours is far superior to my vocal efforts. Well done! Thanks for sharing that!!

      June 23, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      • Hi Scott. I hadn’t played that song in quite a while. It was fun to dust it off. I used to sing a lot of duets…now that I think of it that was a while back, too! 🙂

        June 30, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Create « Mike Hardisty Photography

    • Thanks Mike – by the way, great creation on your site!

      June 25, 2012 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

