Sharing moments in time…

Mormon Barn – Jackson Wyoming


As promised, here is one of my photos of one of the “mormon row” barns just outside of the Grand Teton National Park near Jackson, Wyoming.  These are some of the most photographed barns in the world – there are “flocks” of photographers there most of the year trying to capture an iconic morning or dusk photo of the barns against the incredible backdrop of the Teton mountains.  Except for me – I was there at mid-day during intermittent snow squalls moving through the area.  I might not have caught the best scenery or light, but I still like this photo due to the forbidding skies and the dark mood.

A moody Mormon barn

 

11 responses

  1. Cowgirl Stampede

    I love this picture!!!! I didn’t see the Tetons until I read it. Even prettier!!!!!!

    June 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

  2. Thanks Cowgirl. Its pretty easy to miss the mountains with as bad as the weather was. These old ranches/barns really speak to me as the old west….

    June 25, 2012 at 10:51 am

  3. Awesome! Thanks for sharing

    June 25, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  4. Love the feel of the impending storm with the promise of shelter.

    June 26, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • Lynne,
      I wasn’t as thrilled with the impending storm (I still had some driving to do) but it certainly added to the mood of the moment 🙂

      June 26, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  5. I’m a fan of this kind of sceneries 🙂

    June 26, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    • Thanks Daniel – It was nice to find this place. I’d like to go back to get the full impact of the mountains in a shot or two.

      June 26, 2012 at 8:33 pm

  6. I love that sky! you’ve given the picture new character

    June 27, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • The sky did it all by itself! I just clicked the shutter…. 🙂

      June 27, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      • you were there, you composed, you correctly exposed.. 🙂

        June 27, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

