Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming


Hi everyone!  I’m actually still in Alaska (long story I’ll save for next week) but have connectivity back!  When I saw the challenge subject thought I’d better take the time to submit one of the photos from the trip.  This was actually one of the first photos that I took upon arrival in Hallo Bay, Alaska.  This young lady was just snoozing away looking very comfortable in the sand.  I sure she’s dreaming of the coming Salmon run or some other subject of importance to Brown Bears.  This will be the first of my Bear series – Many more to come.  Hope you enjoy!

Do Bears count sheep or salmon?

28 responses

  1. Great photo…salmon for sure ☺
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    July 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    • Thanks Siggi – Many more (and better) to come! Isn’t it past your bedtime?

      July 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  2. Very nice photo taken! Great work!

    July 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    • Thanks Alex! It was great being around the bears in all of their behaviors.

      July 14, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      • You are welcome! Do drop by my blog too!

        July 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm

      • I have Alex – your shots of the run in Singapore made me want to return there again – soon!

        July 15, 2012 at 11:42 am

      • Sure! By then I will see you there!

        July 15, 2012 at 8:51 pm

  3. purpleowltree1234

    She’s absolutely beautiful. Omg. Is she free, or in a nature reserve? Makes me sad for the guys I see in the zoo when I see a bear SO content in the wild like this one. Precious!! 😀

    July 14, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    • Rach – she’s most definitely free…..and relaxed.

      July 15, 2012 at 11:38 am

      • purpleowltree1234

        wow!!! are they close to civilisation, or do you have to go far out of towns n off roads to find them like this?

        July 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm

      • They are on a remote area of the Alaska Penninsula – you have to take a small plane to get there – no roads or towns

        July 15, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: DREAMING (Serenity & Solitude) « A drifter off to see the world

    • Dahlia – thanks for the ping back and I’m glad I found your blog. I’m looking forward to your continuing adventures and insights

      July 15, 2012 at 5:17 pm

  5. Beautiful shot! It’s not often I’ve seen a bear looking so peaceful!

    July 15, 2012 at 5:28 am

    • RS – they were all pretty mellow. They had occasional tussles with each other but otherwise if was very peaceful

      July 15, 2012 at 11:44 am

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge:Dreaming « Mystiic

    • Mystic – thanks for visiting and for the reblog! I hope to take similar trips that you talk about on your site in your beautiful country.

      July 15, 2012 at 5:09 pm

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: (4) DREAM « My Tropical Home

    • Thanks Mary – I appreciate the reblog – and hope to visit your tropical home some day!

      July 15, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    • Mary, thanks for the referral – its also on my list to visit your beautiful tropical home in the Phillipines!

      July 15, 2012 at 5:12 pm

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « All Access Pass

    • Thanks Melanie! I stopped by your blog – awesome insight on teaching and parenting!

      July 15, 2012 at 5:04 pm

  10. Maybe they count pots of honey – if Winnie the Pooh is to be believed. 🙂
    Beautiful photo. I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of the bear series.

    July 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    • Thanks Jackie – good call on the honey pots….lots to share for sure!

      July 15, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « the unbearable lightness of being me.

Leave a Reply

