Sharing moments in time…

Alaska – A Bear of a Reflection


We didn’t have much great weather while at Hallo Bay but we did have one morning which had some sun and blue sky before it disappeared again before noon.  Luckily, that morning we decided to walk down the beach to see what was going on before heading towards the meadows.  This photo shows the lone bear that was out on the clamming area that morning.  He was considerate enough to position himself directly behind some residual pools on the tidal flats.  This of course yielded some great reflection shots – I hope you enjoy this one.  It looked to me like he was either trying to figure out who that was staring back at him, or he was checking his hair to make sure it was suitable for the photographic session….

Who dat?

12 responses

  1. Fantastic shot! Your Alaska photos are all stunning, as always!

    July 23, 2012 at 10:20 am

    • Thanks Dounia – Mother nature is a lovely lady

      July 23, 2012 at 5:00 pm

  2. I was in Alaska a few years ago and never saw a bear. I love yours.

    July 23, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    • Judy,
      Sorry you didn’t get the opportunity – they are fantastic creatures! I’m glad my photos are filling that void.

      July 23, 2012 at 5:05 pm

  3. Amazing shot!

    July 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    • WE – Thank you. Its easy when you get such magnificent subjects in great photographic environments….

      July 23, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  4. FANTASTIC! Hope you’re gong to enlarge and frame this one.

    July 23, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • Thanks Marina! I haven’t decided yet which of the Alaska shots I’m going to print and put on canvas. I’d like to hear your opinions on that when I’ve posted more of the good shots from the trip…..please?

      July 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      • In my opinion, this one is a sure thing. The colours and the image is too good. So proud of your work!

        July 23, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  5. Superb shot.

    July 24, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Thanks Lynne. I have a series of reflection shots like this one and can’t decide which I like best… 🙂

      July 24, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  6. purpleowltree1234

    This conveys oodles of information in this photo. I love it! What a beautiful story it tells. 🙂
    Rach.

    July 25, 2012 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

