Sharing moments in time…

Alaska – Favorite (and last) Bear


I thought I’d post this photo of one of my favorite Bears from our trip.  This guy was out all by himself on the tidal flats clamming as we were waiting for airplane to come pick us up from the beach.  We first walked out without cameras just to spend some time with the bear before we left.  After about 10 minutes we all realized that this was a special bear – both very photogenic and very cooperative in posing as he was going about his searches on some of the rocky areas of the flats.  We ran about a quarter mile back to the beach to get our cameras and spent about 20 minutes with him before the tide started coming in (quickly).  It was a great way to end our stay with the bears and the perfect bear to provide the final fond memory of our week.

What a great Bear!!

12 responses

  1. You`re not wrong there Scott,definitely the perfect bear to end the week!

    August 16, 2012 at 9:09 am

  2. Fabulous photo … loving your blog!

    August 16, 2012 at 9:52 am

    • Thank you so much Cheryl – lots more to share – hope you enjoy it!

      August 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

  3. Pingback: United Colours of Dumbo, Brooklyn ~ Capture the Colour | Marina Chetner

  4. This guy looks playful.

    August 17, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    • Lynne,
      He was sure friendly with us!

      August 19, 2012 at 11:47 am

  5. I am loving these photographs of your wildlife! Please tell me you’ve been entering competitions!? If it’s ok with you I would like to feature you on my blog which focuses on creative and inspiring photographers. Featuring you would involve using a couple of your photographs (so my readers can take a look at what you’ve done) and if you would be so kind, an interview perhaps? I would love to know more and I am certain my readers would like to know more too! Let me know! 🙂

    Cogtography, a photographic blog (mainly for photographers) for all your inspirational and creative ideas, give us a comment, a like and maybe even a follow. Get creative, get inspired:
    http://cogtography.wordpress.com/

    August 18, 2012 at 4:58 am

    • Tom,
      Thank you so much for your interest. I haven’t really entered any serious competitions although I’ve gotten some decent results on some of the challenges at dpreview. I also have gotten a few of my photos published. I may get around to doing more as I continue to add to my portfolio – but so far its been more of a pastime and hobby. I’d be glad to discuss your ideas for a feature – I’ll email you. Thanks!
      Scott

      August 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

  6. I think this is the Tyra Banks of bears. He’s definitely posing for you!

    I’ve loved all of your bear photos, but this one is extra special.

    August 18, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    • Thanks Jackie! I’m glad you agree that he is different. We had a great time with him – special

      August 19, 2012 at 11:51 am

  7. Oh, wow…great capture. I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska…I hear it’s just breathtaking, not to mention the wildlife. Nice to have found you on WordPress:)

    August 30, 2012 at 10:24 am

    • Thanks Desiree! By all means – do not miss Alaska – it is truly one of the last wilderness areas.

      September 3, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

