Sharing moments in time…

Alaska – Anchor Point (Bald Eagles Everywhere!)


After we left the Bears in Hallo Bay, we flew back to Homer for a quick overnighter before heading onto the next part of our trip.  We only had a few hours but my “bear mates” had told be about an area outside of Homer which was incredible for getting good close shots of bald eagles on the beach.  We borrowed a car and headed out there and it was as advertised.  Bald eagles in the trees, on the beach, and flying over the water.  There were probably 20-30 of them at any given time and they didn’t seem at all skittish at our presence.  This first photo, which is one of my favorites from the entire Alaska trip, gives an idea of the place – an adult bald eagle sitting with a juvenile eagle and a gull. They allowed us to get very close to get this kind of shot.  Hope you enjoy!!

Birds of different feathers

16 responses

  1. Ellen

    Spectacular!

    August 20, 2012 at 10:04 am

  2. purpleowltree1234

    I think, “Wow!!” with every photo of yours I see. How awesome that you trek all over the planet and we get to sit back in our armchairs surfing the views with you. It’s truly a priviledge. Nature is breathtaking. I can just imagine the elation you would’ve felt getting to this spot and having the stories about so many relaxed bald eagles around, be true. Incredibly amazing. Thank you, again and again, for sharing some of the spectacular places and animals you come across. You spread joy.
    Rach.

    August 20, 2012 at 10:28 am

    • Rachel – you made my week (already) with your kind comments. THANK YOU.

      August 20, 2012 at 10:51 am

  3. What a wonderful shot!

    August 20, 2012 at 11:45 am

  4. Cheryl

    Absolutely stunning. I’ve spent many hours at our Florida property waiting with telephoto lens to capture the pair of bald eagles that nest nearby. No luck … yet. Back at it again this winter when we do the snowbird thing for a few weeks.

    August 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • Thanks Cheryl! I’ve seen a couple of eagles while down near Daytona but never close enough to photograph. Good luck!

      August 21, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  5. Great stuff Scott,remarkably I have just finished uploading to my website……at last!
    Your face at Anchor Point was a picture,it was like a kid in a candy store.

    August 20, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    • Thanks Ross – I knew that you and Jamie were enjoying watching me try to get the ultimate shot! Thanks again for telling me about that place. I got a note from Jamie also – we may join you again next year!!

      August 21, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      • Excellent news! Really hope we can all make it happen,was a great trip with a great group.
        And yeah it was great being able to get you to Anchor Pt after the eagles teasing you out at the camp. ;o)

        August 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      • Ross,
        as Bob Hope would say (or sing)…Thanks for the memories!!

        August 24, 2012 at 8:26 am

  6. Spectacular! And they look really scary – I kind of wonder if they’ll attack (do they?) Beautiful pictures as always – Scott, you never fail to remind desk-bound folks like myself how much there is in the world that I’m missing out on, and you’re doing so much to share this with us. Thank you!

    August 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    • RR – they’re not scary at all – unless you happen to be a fish! My pleasure to share whatever I can – thanks for the continued encouragement.

      August 21, 2012 at 3:07 pm

  7. Incredible, as usual!

    Scott, I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award and I would be very honoured if you were to accept :). http://manishamishra.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/very-inspiring-blogger-award-part-ii/

    August 20, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    • Thank You Anarya! I am honored by your nomination but feel I must decline at this time…but I really do appreciate your support!!

      August 21, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      • That’s alright Scott! I appreciate your decision 🙂

        August 21, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

