Sharing moments in time…

Alaska – How cute is this?


Before we went to see the bears, we spent some time on the bay near Homer Alaska in our friend Jay’s boat.  We had the opportunity to spend some quality time with these delightful creatures – the sea otter.  I’m not sure there is a better definition of cute than a picture of an otter (okay, maybe a koala bear works also).  We saw many in singles or small groups but we never did see a “raft” (that really is the plural for otters) of otters that Jay told us were plentiful in the area.  Here’s your quota for cute for today!

“Hey, look at me – handsome, huh?”

19 responses

  1. Oh so wickedly cute, Scott! The lake where I will soon be living permanently is called Otter Lake for very good reason … the only thing more adorable than your photo is watching two baby otters wrestling in the shallows, totally nonplussed by my presence

    August 29, 2012 at 11:56 am

    • Cheryl – that sounds GREAT – I’m envious! May I ask where Otter Lake is?

      August 29, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      • Sure, Scott. 15 minutes south of Parry Sound, Ontario, adjacent to Georgian Bay in Lake Huron. My Photo Blog is full of shots from the lake … no one seems bored with those yet 🙂

        August 30, 2012 at 3:56 am

      • Cheryl,
        Thanks, I had actually seen several of them before but forgot the details – in any case, I went back and enjoyed them again – a beautiful place!

        August 30, 2012 at 9:30 am

  2. Oh, he is too cute!! Definitely put a big smile on my face, so thanks for sharing, Scott! 🙂

    August 29, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    • Dounia – smiles are great, my pleasure!

      August 29, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  3. Pretty darn cute – another wonderful capture!! 😉

    August 29, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    • TRS – Thanks (but other than totally blowing the shot, its really hard to take a bad picture of a sea otter in its environment…)

      August 29, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  4. Ellen

    Looks too cute! 🙂

    August 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm

  5. Ohhhh, he’s soooo cute!!! 🙂 last time I went to the zoo the otters were sleeping out of the water. They were one of the animals I most wanted to watch. Next time! In the meantime I’ve got htis adorable photo to look at :o)
    Rach.

    August 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    • Hi Rach – I always search them out when I go the zoo also:-)

      August 29, 2012 at 7:38 pm

  6. Oh this is so adorable! Looks like he’s crossing his arms in arrogance of his cuteness and posing for you again! 🙂

    August 29, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    • RR- I’m not sure they could look bad no matter what they tried – but I appreciated the pose.

      August 30, 2012 at 9:29 am

  7. I saw a few sea otters in the Monterey Bay Aquarium – an amazing place if you ever have the chance to go. They were incredibly adorable. It almost seemed that they were posing for the cameras.

    September 2, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    • Jackie, Otters definitely do not have a “bad side”

      September 3, 2012 at 6:56 pm

  8. Awwwwwwww, very cute!!!!!!!!!

    September 4, 2012 at 1:37 am

    • Loanna – nothing cuter that I know of….not even the shark that you have on your site….:-)

      September 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  9. Pingback: Alaska – How cute is this? « Up Close and Personal Alaska – The Kenai Peninsula

Leave a Reply

