Sharing moments in time…

A symbol of the southwest


I just got back from a quick roadtrip to New Mexico.  I couldn’t think of a more appropriate subject to start my short photo essay on that trip than the iconic roadrunner.  These unique birds are most often seen running along the ground or flying for short distances before resuming their trek.  It is a less frequent sight to catch them up in a tree so I thought I’d post this image of one that flew into a tree not to far from where I was sitting in my car.

Safe from that wily Coyote…..

I also got the opportunity to catch this “related species” (wink, wink) during my trip – the even more rare RAILROAD RUNNER!

“I see that train a- com’in….”

I have to relate one sad story from the trip.  As I was returning from the area where I took these photos, a roadrunner ran out in front of me on the freeway.  It would have completely crossed my path but it saw a car that was trying to pass me, reversed course, and there was nothing I could do to avoid it.  I am still bummed at having destroyed one of my favorite creatures.

 

18 responses

  1. sad you hit the roadrunner. 😦 Knowing your love of nature and animals I know you would’ve avoided it if you could’ve. hugs. It’s synchronicity you should post roadrunner photos now. My friend in Texas was tellin me about having armadillos around n stuff and I was like that is so cool. Then he said he’s got a roadrunner on his property. i thought he was joking. i never realised they’re real animals. I thought they wree just made up for cartoons. LOL i Googled thimages of them and I was so surpried, they’re Real!! LOL SO one day whenever I make it to America, Marty saud to go visit him and see his roadrunner and armadillos. 🙂 I grew up with him in the Philippines. How come no one ever told me therse are real animals, before? They’re so cool!! 😀

    September 12, 2012 at 9:29 am

    • Thanks Rach! They are always a trip to watch while running around. I’m not quite as thrilled with Armadillos but I guess they have their own charm (for sort of a “walking tank”)

      September 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  2. purpleowltree1234leowltree1234

    Sorry about the terrible typing! My cat Rufus is on me, right in front of my face, so I’m typing rather blindly. LOL

    September 12, 2012 at 9:31 am

  3. Now I know what they really look like! Great photos!

    September 12, 2012 at 9:52 am

    • Thanks Clanmother! OBTW – I love that title!

      September 13, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  4. Love it … the tune is playing over and over in my head … but I’m a J. Cash fan.

    September 12, 2012 at 10:53 am

    • Cheryl,
      Glad I could get your jukebox going!

      September 13, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  5. Raymond Kelso

    Scott Saw one on the golf course this morning

    September 12, 2012 at 11:43 am

    • Hi Ray! No whale sharks? Where was Diane’s picture taken?

      September 13, 2012 at 4:26 pm

  6. Awesome!

    September 12, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    • Thanks Scrapy! Thats a great photo you have of a very unusual looking bird – I need to get down there and explore.

      September 13, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  7. Awwww…so sorry to hear about the end part 😦 I think I’ve only seen one road runner in my entire life. Are they typically slow? We have the California Quail here, and they are VERY slow runners…survivalists say they are easy to capture if you need an emergency meal in the wilderness 😐 Glad you got to capture these with your camera!

    September 12, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    • Desiree – they are actually very quick! This guy just got caught in a bad place where he didn’t see the other car at first then decided to reverse course 😦

      September 13, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  8. I particularly like the shot in the tree. We see our resident one or two roadrunners periodically. They are very curious about what goes on. We have (long ago) seen one on the top of a water tank – not nearly as photo-worthy! Sorry about the one that was lost. No matter how appealing the critter, I hate it when they lose to a car.

    September 13, 2012 at 8:38 am

    • Thanks Cathy. I’ll have to bring one of my longer lenses next time we visit! I wish I could have done something but other than spontaneously levitating (which isn’t one of my car’s strong points) I’m not sure what I could have done….

      September 13, 2012 at 4:32 pm

  9. I think this is the first time I’ve seen a roadrunner that isn’t a cartoon. 🙂 Thank you for sharing. Do they really run as fast as that wily coyote thinks they do? Despite all of his purchases from the Acme Supply Co. he never did catch up to that roadrunner.

    September 15, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Jackie,
      They are pretty quick – I’ve seen them around coyotes and I’ve never seen one caught!

      September 15, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Leave a Reply

