Sharing moments in time…

Another Southwestern Icon – the Prairie Dog


Another of my favorite Southwestern subjects.  I had looked for prairie dog colonies all week but it wasn’t until the last two days that I spotted one while driving – and had to stop to visit with the little guys for a while.  Interestingly enough, after I took these photos, I seemed to find them everywhere….but I was on the way home and didn’t take the time to stop.  These photos were taken in the high country of New Mexico in between the towns of Taos and Angel Fire.  They were taken in the afternoon and under the purview of red-tailed hawks that were circling above the colony (maybe tomorrow’s subject??).  Most of the pups where pretty skittish once the “lookout dog” sounded the alarm but I did manage to get a few shots in……

dinner interruptus???

This second guy seemed to be keeping a close eye on the sky…..with good reason!

” I spy…with my own little eye….something that flies……RUN!!!”

 

 

2 responses

  1. Nice shots. I like how you were able to capture their concerns about the dangers above.

    September 14, 2012 at 6:40 am

    • Thanks Emily – They are always watching and have their “scouts” looking out for intruders – interesting to watch.

      September 15, 2012 at 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

