Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal


Okay – so this may not meet what you expect for this challenge but when I saw the subject I immediately thought of this photo from the Cathedral in Mallorca, Spain.  I have been hoping for a challenge that somehow fit this photo and I hope you agree that this fits.  This was near the end of our trip and to be perfectly truthful, I was tiring of visiting Cathedrals and churches.  We arrived at the Cathedral about mid-morning and decided to go on in.  It was an incredible surprise when we got inside that we had arrived at the perfect time for the morning sun to be streaming through the huge stained glass windows over the altar.  The entire inside of the building was awash in the rainbows of reds, blues, greens and yellows from the windows.  I took many photos of this incredible sight when I saw this scene of a father explaining the colorful lights to his young son.  This is one of my favorites from our entire trip and it speaks to me of renewal across generations as well as the spiritual aspects of renewal evident in the cathedral.  I hope you enjoy my interpretation……

Rainbow renewal

26 responses

  1. Beautiful. 🙂

    November 9, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    • Thanks Jillian – glad you could stop by from down under.

      November 12, 2012 at 10:03 am

  2. I love your interpretation! I can relate to that – a rainbow conjures up so many aspects of renewal and specially in a church or cathedral. An excellent choice of photographs.

    November 9, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • Swozy – Thanks – and great mosaic you posted!

      November 12, 2012 at 10:04 am

  3. As I read your words, I was reminded of the sense of renewal one gets with unexpected pleasures and experiences like this while traveling. You noted reaching the point of saturation with cathedrals before this scene, and I suspect after crossing paths with this pair, you felt a renewed sense of wonder, as well! Thank you for sharing. ~ Kat

    November 9, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    • Kat – you are so right – seeing that kind of sight makes everything new again – at least until you get back home and watch the news again….:-(

      November 12, 2012 at 10:06 am

  4. A wonderful response for the prompt..thank you !

    November 9, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • Thanks Siggi – glad you liked it – it was a neat experience.

      November 12, 2012 at 10:07 am

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal | Four Deer Oak

  6. TheBlackTwig

    Beautiful photo and meaningful interpretation.

    November 9, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    • Dahlia – looks like you have a great start on traveling the world! Hopefully I can give you some more ideas through my own travels – enjoy!!

      November 12, 2012 at 10:10 am

  7. Gorgeous 😮

    November 10, 2012 at 12:37 am

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Renewal « Новичок в фотографии

  9. Veronica Roth

    That’s a beauty. I can’t ever get enough of the light from catherdral/church windows. 🙂

    November 10, 2012 at 9:37 am

    • Veronica – I can’t say that I visit them very often (except on travel) but this was special!

      November 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

  10. That is my favourite photo so far Scott…what a beautiful image to be able to capture

    November 10, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • Thanks so much Jo – I knew it was a great sight and I hoped I could catch the essence of it. They appeared very quickly, I took a couple of quick shots, and luckily caught that special moment.

      November 12, 2012 at 10:13 am

  11. A perfectly timed capture of a wonderful father/son moment. Perfect for the theme in my humble opinion.

    November 10, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    • Thanks Jeff – I appreciate the comment from an accomplished photographer like yourself!

      November 12, 2012 at 10:19 am

      • You are very welcome!

        November 12, 2012 at 1:35 pm

  12. Absolutely fits, Scott … a beautifully stunning shot, sentiment … and story!

    November 14, 2012 at 7:54 am

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Renewal « Cheryl Andrews

Leave a Reply

