Sharing moments in time…

“two-fer Thursday”


As some of you may know, I try to do only minimal post- processing on my photos.  I normally crop them to my taste, adjust the levels, and maybe sharpen the subject of the photo a little – thats it.  During my trip to New Mexico I had the opportunity to photograph some wild horses with a professional photographer, Lynne Pomeranz (if you’re ever in NM and would like to go see the wild horses, I highly recommend you give her a call).  Anyway, during lunch we went through some of the things that she does for her work to get it ready for commercial galleries.  She is a photoshop user and she also shared some work from a friend of hers who is another great photographer and a certified photoshop expert.  In talking to both of them, I think it is probably time learn how to use more of the postprocessing tools to get the most out of my photos.  All that being said, I probably will still use most of the tools very sparingly.  For the past week or so I’ve been using a trial version of the software and just trying things to see how they work.  You can do some interesting things so I thought I’d share one of my experiments.  One of the things that you can do is “layer” photos on top of each other and pick out specific parts of the photos that you want to remain visible.  Here’s my first experiment with that process – the background of the this photo was a sunset photo of the reserve showing one of the ponds with sandhill cranes resting for the evening.  The foreground was a separate photo of a snow goose landing that I took about two hours before the sunset photo.  I think it makes a nice composite and captures two great experiences of the Bosque – the sunsets as well as the wildlife.  What do you think??

Snowgoose Sunset

Snowgoose Sunset

14 responses

  1. I share your approach to working with post-process, but every once in a while, I just have to experiment. I have Photoshop Elements, but am lazy and often just slide back to using freeware that does just the minimal bits you describe above.

    December 27, 2012 at 10:16 am

    • Hi Cheryl,
      As an Apple guy, I’ve always used Aperture but photoshop does offer alot of capability. I’ll continue to play with it but don’t know that it will become my “go to” process.

      December 29, 2012 at 9:05 am

  2. Wow, this is really beautiful. This is coming from someone who doesn’t take photos nor do I know much about Photoshop 🙂

    December 27, 2012 at 11:45 am

    • Thanks Allison! The point of the photo is not about knowing the tools so I am thrilled that you liked it.

      December 29, 2012 at 9:06 am

  3. Howard Schwartz

    Scott: Fun.  Very good start.  Photoshop classes are available at the community colleges and are a great way to learn and collaborate with other students. Happy New Year to Dee and you! Howard

    >________________________________ > From: scottseyephotos >To: hss25@yahoo.com >Sent: Thursday, December 27, 2012 8:38 AM >Subject: [New post] “two-fer Thursday” > > > WordPress.com >scottrandall posted: “As some of you may know, I try to do only minimal post- processing on my photos.  I normally crop them to my taste, adjust the levels, and maybe sharpen the subject of the photo a little – thats it.  During my trip to New Mexico I had the opportunity to” >

    December 27, 2012 at 7:09 pm

  4. I’d say it’s very impressive. I play about in PS Elements 8 – not the full program – but for the life of me I can’t figure out how to use the layering feature …

    December 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    • Lynne,
      I took me several hours to be able to get it right. I’m sure it’ll be easier next time. If I get proficient at it, I’ll be glad to try to explain it to you….

      December 29, 2012 at 9:08 am

      • Very kind Scott – are you working in the full blown Photoshop program or in Photoshop Elements? The Elements naturally doesn’t have all the bells ‘n’ whistles, but it does have layers …

        December 29, 2012 at 1:14 pm

  5. Thank you so much for the info….

    December 27, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    • Clanmother – you are most welcome!

      December 29, 2012 at 9:10 am

  6. I have trouble with layers, too, and typically play around more in Lightroom – I love the way it organizes photos so I try to do most work there since I download to it anyway. This is such an interesting photo and a pretty daring combination, but it works! I get the feeling the snow goose is thinking it’s found very cool place. With all the contrast between it & the background a story starts in my brain about the photo – maybe because there’s a strong sense of subject and object with the difference between the two photos.

    December 28, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    • BB- I really appreciate your detailed comments as I was afraid it might be “too out there”. I normally just use Aperture but the photoshop experiments I’ve done seem to indicate its worth it.

      January 4, 2013 at 5:58 pm

  7. Steve Deutsch

    i like it.

    December 28, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

