Sharing moments in time…

Color Contrast


I was talking to some of my friends last night who were interested in using some of my photos – of PEOPLE!   I normally get more reaction from my wildlife photos so I was a little surprised.  In any case, I started looking back for some of my people photos from last year to send them.  While I was at it, I figured maybe I should post a few more here.  These are a couple that I sent them that I used to illustrate a combination of B&W and color to draw attention to a subject.  This first one was just a scene from a rainy evening in Barcelona and this couple caught my eye walking down the street. The scene was a bit  cluttered so I used the color to make them standout just a little more.

Friends

Friends

The second photo was taken on a street in Provence and was just a typical street scene but I thought the girl in the poster jumped out while also fitting into the scene of the people on the street.  Again, I used the B&W background to make it pop even more.  I don’t use this technique too often but I find it interesting on occasion…..all comments gratefully accepted!

Poster Girl

Poster Girl

15 responses

  1. Think this technique works beautifully with a busy scene – I tend to like monochrome for close up portraits, where you have a lot of contrast 🙂
    Interesting shots 🙂

    January 10, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • Thanks Laura – I agree. There are also other times when a photo just cries out to me that it needs to be monochrome for no apparent reason….. 🙂

      January 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      • Afraid I’m generally just the admirer of beautiful things rather than the one that captures them so I usually just get to think poignantly about them looking at the finished product 🙂

        January 11, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      • Laura,
        I’m sure you’re just being modest – as a matter of fact, I know you are as I’ve seen your photos on your blog.

        January 11, 2013 at 9:07 pm

      • That’s very kind, thank you

        January 12, 2013 at 12:53 pm

  2. I like these a lot… I’d seen some paintings in black and white…seascapes in fog or night time and there would be a pop of color… and have tried it my self…yours are gorgeous and eye catching.

    January 10, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    • Thanks Siggi – glad you like them!

      January 10, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  3. I have much to learn! The colour within a black and white. Looks like magic to me.

    January 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    • Clanmother, me too! I spent about an hour playing around with my photoshop trial s/w today and learned a few things but I am FAR from being able to use it effectively.

      January 10, 2013 at 9:11 pm

  4. Rooster

    KUUL

    January 10, 2013 at 9:34 pm

  5. Love the technique and would enjoy seeing more of your ‘people’ shots.

    January 11, 2013 at 7:46 am

    • Cheryl,
      I posted another one (people pic) today on the challenge – hope you like it!

      January 11, 2013 at 9:01 pm

  6. Bridget

    I absolutely love the black and whites with a burst of color. It brings interest and drama that might not be there just b&w. The model appears to jump out if the ad, adding a glamourous splash of interest to a calm, rather normal street scene. The color added to the couple draws your eye to a special and personal moment shared by them. Very creative Scott!

    January 13, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    • Thanks Bridget! I appreciate the comments. Hope you’re having a great weekend.

      January 13, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

