Sharing moments in time…

Horse of a not so different color (B&W)


I think I’ve mentioned before that I spent some time with photographer Lynne Pomeranz while I was in New Mexico.  She taught me more about wild horses in a day than I could have imagined.  She introduced me to a variety of the wild horse “bands” and their stallion leaders, mare followers, and youngsters.  Today’s photo is of one of those beautiful black stallions – aptly named “Black”.  I hope I have done him justice but in case I didn’t, you should look at Lynne’s site  (http://www.lynnepomeranz.com) to see how it is really done.  As I think I’ve said before, if you are ever in the NM (Albuquerque or Sante Fe) area, and are interested in the wild horses – you should do yourself a favor and contact Lynne.  Also – for you photographers out there, she is having a combined workshop with Dennis Chamberlain  (http://www.dcphotoartistry.com/DC_Photo_Artistry/Welcome.html) who is a both an accomplished photographer and a photoshop post processing expert on March 1-3 – it will be a fantastic opportunity to improve both your photographic and processing skills.

DSC_1604wm

9 responses

  1. very nicely done

    January 17, 2013 at 6:19 am

    • Thanks Jenny – I appreciate it. I tried to go on your blog to check out your images but the links didn’t seem to work – still building it?

      January 17, 2013 at 11:11 am

      • mine is build.however my internet savvy is not up to par.

        January 17, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  2. Fabulous shot, Scott … use of tones and composition definitely do more than ‘justice’ for the Leader of the Band

    January 17, 2013 at 6:58 am

    • Thanks Cheryl – I thought this was a nice shot but nothing special at first. Then I started to play with it a little yesterday and liked how it ended up. Still experimenting with different processes but having some decent results in the meantime. Hopefully I’ll have a lot to play with after India….

      January 17, 2013 at 11:14 am

  3. Wonderful capture…b and w suits this to a “T”

    January 17, 2013 at 7:23 am

    • Thanks Siggi! He was a beautiful stallion and the girls all loved him 🙂 I was happy that I was able to get a good shot – black animals are not always easy to capture.

      January 17, 2013 at 11:16 am

  4. Absolutely lovely….and in my opinion you will never find a more majestic subject matter…wow
    Lisa

    January 18, 2013 at 5:03 am

    • Lisa – Black is indeed beautiful.

      January 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

