Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond


I like this challenge as I am always TRYING to be aware of what is beyond my subject – either to minimize its impact or use it to accentuate the photo.  Here’s a couple of examples where I think the “beyond” is at least as important as the subject.

"Honey, I'm home"

“Honey, I’m home”

This first one was taken in the Galapagos Islands.  The focal point is the male frigate bird in the front with his red pouch all blown up to attract attention from the ladies.  The picture would not be complete without his honey in the background – can’t tell whether she is happy to see him or upset that he stopped for a few brews on the way home….

"Peek a boo"

“Peek a boo”

The next is a photo of a statue at the FDR monument in Washington DC.  Its a decent photo by itself but it wouldn’t have nearly the impact if you don’t look “beyond” to the tourist who appears to be joining the bronzed group on line …..

Multiple Bison Background

Multiple Bison Background

This last one I’ve posted before so I apologize.  I thought it was good for the challenge because it really has a couple of layers of beyond.  While the photographer was the focal point, I made sure that I had a wide enough depth of field to capture the two “beyond” elements – the reflection of the Bison in the pond and the Bison themselves.  Probably needless to say but this was in Yellowstone National Park.  Have a great weekend!

 

 

6 responses

  1. Excellent choices, Scott.

    January 18, 2013 at 12:45 pm

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | A Real Mummy Diary

  3. I love those birds!! Nice captures

    January 19, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Beyond « Cheryl Andrews

Leave a Reply

