Sharing moments in time…

London Natural History Museum


I have passed this incredible building many times on different trips to London but I had never been inside.  This time I decided to take a little time as there was an exhibit on wildlife photography which is one of my hobbies.  While there, I had to take a few shots of the building itself as it is a work of art.

London Natural History Museum

London Natural History Museum

Anytime I’m in England or in Europe, I always seem to look for gargoyles on the buildings.  This museum has some of the best gargoyles around…….

Gargoyles Galore

Gargoyles Galore

And, just in case you wanted to see what the inside looks like……

DSC_0578wm

 

Thats probably all I’ll be able to post from England…..its on to India tomorrow!

15 responses

  1. How old do you think the building is, Scott? Beautiful images.

    January 30, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    • Cheryl
      It was started in 1873 and opened in 1881. The stone and glass work is amazing.

      January 31, 2013 at 1:43 am

  2. Wow – great building. Never made it to the natural history museum yet either, spent too long in the British museum last time I was in the capital.

    Enjoy India – I’m green with envy!

    January 30, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    • Thanks Laura. It’s worth a stop. On to the next adventure!

      January 31, 2013 at 1:34 am

  3. A gorgeous building…and I love gargoyles….not many here in New England !
    Thanks for sharing. I’m traveling to places I’ll never get to see thru your eyes and camera !

    January 30, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    • Hi siggi – I’m glad to be your eyes. Hope WE see amazing things in India.

      January 31, 2013 at 1:35 am

  4. Gosh gosh, Scott, I love your photos!! First shot is a gorgeous contrast between nature and architecture, with the tree leaning in! Have a safe trip to India!!

    January 30, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    • RR- thanks! I really liked that tree also – really gave it a park feel. Hope to see and share some good stuff from exotic India.

      January 31, 2013 at 1:38 am

  5. Susan

    Hi Scott I am a friend of Dee’s and have love looking at your pictures! I can’t wait to see India through your eyes! Your picture always inspire me to learn more about photography. Enjoy India you will love the photo ops!!!!!
    Love to Dee!

    January 31, 2013 at 5:25 am

    • Hi Susan! We’re on our way back and have had a great trip and adventure. As you know, no photo or set of photos can do justice to all that is India. Hopefully I got a few (of the thousands that I took) that capture SOME of the tradition, culture, and wildlife that are part of India (and Nepal). Let me know if I can ever help with your photography – I am still learning all the time and would love to share my latest experiments!

      February 23, 2013 at 4:42 am

  6. Great architectural shots – very nice.

    February 4, 2013 at 7:19 am

    • Thanks Lynne – not really my strong point but I’m really glad you liked them! I have many more coming from India and Nepal (as well as my more familiar of subjects like wildlife and people).

      February 23, 2013 at 4:43 am

      • I particularly liked that interior shot.

        February 23, 2013 at 8:37 am

  7. Great blog you have here.. It’s difficult to find high-quality writing like yours
    nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

    April 23, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Thank you Kathie – you’ve truly made my Tuesday!

      April 23, 2013 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

