Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details


Not surprisingly, I’ll use one of my recent India photos for this challenge.  India is a place where you can find literally thousands of photographic opportunities within a certain area or within the span of a few seconds.  We were walking along the   Ganges River in Varanasi India just taking in the amazing sights and sounds of the people exercising their religious beliefs along this holiest of rivers.  There is so much going on that it is easy to get lost in the grand view and forget the details.  My example is this group of folks embarking for a trip on the Ganges.  They were a few among thousands but the thing that set them apart, at least for me, was the beautiful way that the woman’s sari matched the faded color scheme of the boat.  I hope that detail leads you in to a lovely, isolated moment among the crowds…..

Pretty in pink (and blue)

Pretty in pink (and blue)

10 responses

  1. Cyn

    Wow! Now, that’s what I call an eye. Now that you mention it, the way the two match really does make the photo quite a unique moment in time…

    March 1, 2013 at 10:15 am

    • Hi Cyn – glad you enjoyed the photo. The colors in India are amazing

      March 1, 2013 at 5:46 pm

  2. cool shot!

    March 1, 2013 at 10:16 am

    • Thanks Owl….I actually have some great Indian owl shots coming up also….

      March 1, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details – The Culvert | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Other Bricks in the Wall (Weekly Photo Challenge) | Four Deer Oak

  5. Amar Naik

    nice shot for theme. colors are part of indian women dressup

    http://amarnaik.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/weekly-photo-challenge-lost-in-the-details

    March 3, 2013 at 10:34 am

    • Thanks Amar – the colors of the saris everywhere are fantastic. Even out working in the fields, the women wear amazingly colorful clothes

      March 4, 2013 at 7:55 am

  6. autisticaplanet

    I enjoy the perspective of this shot-the people on the boat. I also think the way you cropped it was perfect. I like how the guide’s shoulders & head aren’t in the photo to keep the focus on the passengers. I think there is as much mathematical perspective as there is creative. I tend to notice that with your work.

    March 4, 2013 at 12:55 am

    • Allison – I guess it goes back to my engineering background. Thank you for providing your perspectives on my photos – I appreciate you giving them that much attention and I am always happy to understand what people do or don’t like in a photo – it helps me get better at my hobby – Thank You!

      March 4, 2013 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

