Sharing moments in time…

The “uncommon” common Langur


Hi everyone!  I’m finally back and have access to my photos again so thought I’d post a quick shot of one of my favorite animals of our India trip – the gray or “common” Langur monkey.  These animals were pretty much everywhere we went on our trip so in that respect they are indeed very common.  Our guides in India seemed a little baffled by my insistence that we stop so I could take photos of these little guys.  At each of our stops we had to explain that there are NO monkey native to the US and that they are very exotic and fascinating to us.  They always humored me and stopped every time I asked so you may expect to see many more of these monkeys (and other types) over the coming posts.  I thought I’d start with this photo as it is a good view of the gray fur and the black face – and the expression always hints that we have a lot in common with these primates.  Ya gotta love-em!

In India, the exotic sometimes becomes the norm.

In India, the exotic sometimes becomes the norm.

6 responses

  1. Super cute. I’m glad we can expect more 🙂

    March 12, 2013 at 11:15 am

  2. I certainly understand your fascination, Scott … no monkey native to Canada either.

    March 13, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    • We should probably import more and just let them loose… 🙂

      March 15, 2013 at 11:48 am

  3. Poignant! What a wonderful adventure!!!

    March 15, 2013 at 11:32 am

    • Clanmother – it definitely was – I’m really enjoying reliving it as I go back through the MANY photos I took trying to figure out what to post.

      March 15, 2013 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

