Sharing moments in time…

Common Birds….Uncommon Beauty


I went down to a local lake yesterday morning just because I hadn’t been there in a while.  Long story short – there wasn’t much activity among the normal lake denizons like the ducks and other water fowl.  Given that lack of action, I found myself taking photos of some very common birds – pidgeons and seagulls as they were flying by me.  While I have often thought that these birds are wonderful flyers, I have not often taken the time to photograph them.  Here are a couple of shots that I really like that show these dynamic flyers in all their glory – hope you enjoy.

Better known for pooping than for flying?

Better known for pooping than for flying?

Graceful Gull

Graceful Gull

8 responses

  1. Awesome clicks !!

    April 4, 2013 at 7:14 am

  2. Saajida

    beautiful 🙂

    April 4, 2013 at 7:14 am

    • Thank you – I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      April 4, 2013 at 2:14 pm

  3. Their agility is fascinating like when they hang motionless in the air at human head height by the shoreline as the winds blow and the water crashes to the beach …

    April 4, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • Cheryl – Yup – one of my favorite sights at the beach.

      April 5, 2013 at 10:15 am

  4. Those are some really amazing pictures! That is probably the only good looking pigeon in San Diego!

    April 4, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Leave a Reply

