Sharing moments in time…

Bored Photographer….


So I was kind of stuck around the house this morning because our elder “child” (dog) CJ is not feeling well and we have to keep her quiet.  I was sitting in our back yard and taking some photos of hummingbirds with a lens combination that I haven’t tried before when I noticed some bees on a pepper tree that we have.  I don’t have a macro lens but I figured I could kill some time trying to catch a bee in flight with my handheld telephoto.  I didn’t get any great shots but thought you might be interested in this one – taken at 1/4000 sec.  The yellow sacs on the bees back legs are called honey baskets – where they store the pollen after collecting it…..

I wasn't busy so I "shot" this bee....

I wasn’t busy so I “shot” this bee….

13 responses

  1. Bridget

    Great “shot” Scott! I’ve never seen a close up of honey baskets before. Cool pic.

    April 10, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • Thanks Bridget! Make sure to look at tomorrow’s post….

      April 10, 2013 at 2:35 pm

  2. Interesting to see those honey baskets – did not realise that bees had them.

    April 10, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    • Colline – I had seen them before but didn’t know what they were called – I had to look it up 🙂

      April 10, 2013 at 3:40 pm

  3. Love the vibrance of the image – if you call this a bad shot all the rest of us should feel worse about our wannabe snap shots 😉

    April 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    • Hi Laura – 🙂 I didn’t say it was “bad” it just wasn’t really good – those darn bees wouldn’t cooperate (and i was too lazy to get a tripod to take a better photo….)

      April 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm

      • Well to be fair they are busy plotting their take over of the planet from inside the mega hive at the centre of the earth – that’s what all that dancing is about! 😉

        April 11, 2013 at 3:09 pm

      • Laura – I hope they are kind to us photographers who try to immortalize them….

        April 16, 2013 at 2:53 pm

  4. Howard Schwartz

    Hi Scott: Still enjoying your photos and commentary.  Hope Dee and you are well. Thank you and best regards, Howard

    >________________________________ > From: scottseyephotos >To: hss25@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 12:06 PM >Subject: [New post] Bored Photographer…. > > > > WordPress.com >scottrandall posted: “So I was kind of stuck around the house this morning because our elder “child” (dog) CJ is not feeling well and we have to keep her quiet.  I was sitting in our back yard and taking some photos of hummingbirds with a lens combination that I haven’t tried ” >

    April 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    • Hi Howard, good to hear from you again. Alls well here except for our sick Chihuahua…..

      April 16, 2013 at 3:04 pm

  5. Hope your furchild is better soon. I’ve never seen a pepper tree. I am pretty shaky trying to hand hold my telephoto lens … this is a fabulous, crisp shot!

    April 11, 2013 at 4:20 am

  6. Cool picture 🙂 I haven’t seen those honey baskets yet.

    April 11, 2013 at 8:53 am

    • HuM – thanks! I had seen them on some other pics but had never confirmed what they were – learning all the time…. 🙂

      April 16, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

