Sharing moments in time…

Yellowstone – Grizzly Bear 399 and Family


On the day that I drove up to Yellowstone, I passed through Grand Teton National Park on the way.  It was a pretty rainy morning but there were a few breaks in the downpour.  During one of those breaks, I drove up upon a large “bear jam” where there were probably 50-60 cars parked by the roadside.  I, of course, jumped out my car with my camera and saw the bears a long way out in the field by the road.  I took a couple of long range shots but the bears luckily turned around and came back towards the road.  Between the crowd and the rangers it wasn’t easy to get a clear or close shot but I was able to get a few.

Momma bear 399 and 3 cubs....

Momma bear 399 and 3 cubs….

Another photographer next to me told me that this was Grizzly 399 and her 3 spring cubs and that they were making a fairly regular stroll through the area.  He also told me that this was 399’s second consecutive set of triplets and she had also had many other multiple births over the years – she was definitely doing her bit to maintain the local bear population.  The cubs were very well behaved other than the fact that it was near impossible to get a good look at all three of them and Mom in the same photo.  In any case, I was thrilled to see Mom and youngsters for a short time period before the family ran off into the woods…..

Leave a Reply

