Sharing moments in time…

Yellowstone – the Scenic view


I always get hung up on taking wildlife photos that I sometimes forget that people might not know or understand the magnificence of places like the Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks.  These parks are huge and they encompass many different environments from snow capped mountains to river carved valleys.  It is impossible in a week to spend enough time to enjoy all the aspects of the parks that are incredible in their own way.  Given my (and my friends) preoccupation with the wildlife, we didn’t spend alot of our limited time to take scenic photos even though we certainly took it all in during our stay.  Today I thought I’d post just a couple of scenic shots to provide context for all the wildlife photos that I have been (and will be) posting.  The first photo is one of the scenes that I always think about when I think of Yellowstone.  It is in the Northeast corner of the park and is a great example of the joining of the rivers, the plains, and mountains.  I took this photo on the day I got to the park – I think it also captures the changing nature of the weather which seems to be in constant flux this time of year.

My Vision of Yellowstone

My Vision of Yellowstone

The second shot is from the complete other end of the Yellowstone/Grand Teton area.  This is from an overlook of the bending Snake River below the imposing face of the Grand Teton Mountain Range – one of the prettiest ranges in the country (in my opinion).  This was an unusual picture for my trip  as I was down in that area of the parks for a total of 4 days and this was one of the few times that I got to see the peaks of the Tetons…..

The Snake River below the beautiful Tetons

The Snake River below the beautiful Tetons

14 responses

  1. Stunning pictures! I’ve always wanted to visit Yellowstone but I still haven’t ever made it over to America. This post makes me even more determined to get there soon!

    June 9, 2013 at 9:33 am

    • Mia,
      I can highly recommend it. I had my two Scottish friends with me this year and we all had a great visit. It is a wonderful place – my only recommendation would be to go “off season” and avoid the summer crowds…

      June 9, 2013 at 10:35 am

  2. Magnificent photos!

    June 9, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    • Thanks Julliane – it hard not to make such a beautiful place look good.

      June 9, 2013 at 4:32 pm

  3. Where is Yellowstone? I am from Spain but I live in New Zealand. It looks a bit like New Zealand 🙂 beautiful and dramatic

    June 9, 2013 at 3:53 pm

    • Nuria – Yellowstone is in the Northwestern part of the United States in the states of Wyoming and Montana. We have long wanted to visit New Zealand but haven’t gotten there YET….soon.

      June 9, 2013 at 4:33 pm

  4. The park certainly looks beautiful and I look forward to seeing even more of the pictures you took on your visit.

    June 10, 2013 at 4:17 am

  5. Yellowstone is a most inspiring place and your excellent
    pictures and story do it great justice

    June 10, 2013 at 12:45 pm

  6. Mamma mia !
    Che spettacolo !
    Ciao Scott. Complimenti !

    Max

    June 10, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    • Max,
      mille o tante grazie! (had to look this one up)

      June 14, 2013 at 1:21 pm

  7. Lynn

    the Tetons were a regular visit for my family when i was growing up. i cannot begin to tell you the majesty and beauty that surrounds that part of America!! they are some of my most favorite memories!!!

    June 11, 2013 at 9:25 am

    • Lynn – I’m envious that you had that kind of access to Tetons! They are magnificent.

      June 11, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  8. My favourite memory of Yellowstone was of the ravens there, as big as turkeys.

    June 11, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    • J&R – You’re right about that! Seems like especially in the mountains they get very “healthy”

      June 14, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

