Sharing moments in time…

What a difference a lens makes!


For those of you who follow this blog, you might recall a post I made a few weeks back entitled “Bored Photographer” (5-10-13).  It was a not-so-clear photo of a bee in flight taken because I was….around the house and bored.  I was almost in the same situation today but I had a new toy to play with – a new telephoto prime lens that arrived this week.  Two of the aspects of this lens that are supposed to make it special are its sharpness and its nice bokeh (the blur in the background).  So I went into the backyard with the intent of waiting for a hummingbird to fly by when I noticed some bees hovering around one of our bushes.  Long story short – I wanted to duplicate the photo that I took a few weeks ago with the new lens.  I am pleased to say that, at least to my eye, the captures are MUCH clearer and detailed with a very pleasant blur which isolates the subject from the background.  I hope you agree.  OBTW – this was taken handheld at 1/640 sec on a dull, cloudy morning.

Busy Bee amusing Bored Photographer....

Busy Bee amusing Bored Photographer….

9 responses

  1. purpleowltree1234

    What an incredible photo! I really love the colours and clarity. Such beauty.
    Rach.

    June 10, 2013 at 7:13 am

    • Thanks Rach – an experiment that worked out well…

      June 10, 2013 at 9:23 am

  2. Fantastic!! Even the wings are clear….

    June 10, 2013 at 9:16 am

    • Thanks Clanmother – I didn’t even bother to try and stop the wings – I think I just caught them near the “end of stroke” to at least get a hint of detail in them – lucky timing

      June 10, 2013 at 9:27 am

      • It was indeed!!!

        June 10, 2013 at 9:28 am

  3. Bruce Ruston

    considering the lighting it is very good, I always end up with too much noise in these lighting conditions 😦

    June 11, 2013 at 6:28 am

    • Bruce – You’re right – I was pretty happy with this one considering the light

      June 14, 2013 at 1:18 pm

  4. great shot

    June 11, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

