Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes


I really enjoyed Ming Thein’s article – it was a great intro on what to look for and a good checklist of things to think about.  I especially agree with the idea that it is best to spend some time in whatever environment you are shooting to understand the subjects, their behavior, and how they interact with the environment.  As someone who spends a lot of time trying to make good captures of wildlife, this approach and the patience that goes with it (not normally one of my strong points), is critical.  Interestingly enough, I read an article yesterday from a noted street photographer who said exactly the same thing.  The other thing that I liked was Ming’s thought about eliciting an emotional attachment.  The photo that I chose for this weeks challenge (I think) demonstrates at least those two aspects of my photography.  This is a pretty simple photo of a Momma Bison and her calf but there were THOUSANDS of opportunities to take this kind of photo (and I admit I took numerous shots that didn’t do what I wanted them to) but this is the one that I was looking for.  I wanted to capture the quiet and comforting relationship between mother and calf because 1) it is probably the only way to make these imposing animals actually look “cute” and 2) it immediately invokes a happy emotional reaction in humans that we feel for most youngsters and their families – independent of species.  From a technical view it may not be a great photo – but it made me happy when I saw it and it still makes me smile when I revisit the scene.  I hope you enjoy it also…..

Mom and her "red dog"

Mom and her “red dog”

25 responses

  1. I have a whole new respect for bison through your photos. I can’t help but think, “Aww!” when I see this.
    Is Mama molting old fur on her back?

    June 21, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    • Thanks Jackie – thats a very nice compliment. I think you’re right – she is shedding her winter coat.

      June 21, 2013 at 5:05 pm

  2. michaelmulholland

    Beautiful spiritual perfection…

    June 21, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    • Thanks Michael – that means alot coming from someone who obviously loves nature – I enjoyed listening to some of your music on your site!

      June 21, 2013 at 5:10 pm

      • michaelmulholland

        Wow, thank you very very much my friend, good to be connected, many blessings my friend, Red Crow

        June 21, 2013 at 6:13 pm

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through My Eyes | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  4. Fantastica !
    Ottima scelta Scott !
    I agree with your words
    Ciao
    Max

    June 21, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    • Thanks Max – I had many to choose from but I’ve been waiting to post this one and it seemed to fit the theme.
      Torna presto!
      Ciao
      Scott

      June 21, 2013 at 5:16 pm

  5. A wonderful, quiet, moody photo. I think there are photos that are beyond any technical discussion. This is such a photo. 🙂

    June 22, 2013 at 1:11 am

    • RG – Danke shoen! This is one of my favorite photos from Yellowstone.

      June 22, 2013 at 8:16 am

      • I can well understand why :-).

        June 22, 2013 at 10:26 am

  6. Pat

    I do believe you nailed this one, Scott. It is one of the best interpretations of this challenge I’ve seen. Good work – I also liked how you shared your thoughts on your photograph.

    June 22, 2013 at 7:39 am

    • Thank you Pat! I’m glad you enjoyed it – I really enjoyed (and continue to enjoy) the moment

      June 22, 2013 at 8:23 am

  7. Steve Deutsch

    you got it.

    June 22, 2013 at 2:02 pm

  8. Nancy

    You definitely succeeded it making this intimidating bison appear accessible and sweet

    June 22, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    • Hi Nancy – I just wanted to crawl in there with the “dog” as it was a little chilly that morning….

      June 23, 2013 at 9:29 am

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The World Through Your Eyes | Mike Hardisty Photography

  10. There can never be enough Yellowstone shots as far as I’m concerned. This is one of the best bison photos I’ve seen, especially because of the emphasis on the maternal side. Bison are such imposing creatures that it’s difficult to imagine that side of them but you caught it perfectly.

    janet

    June 23, 2013 at 6:23 am

    • Thanks Janet! The other part of the “maternal side” that we witnessed was a Mom protecting her calf from a wolf – and then the rest of the herd came to her aid and helped chase the wolf away – more on that in a future post.

      June 23, 2013 at 9:32 am

  11. Superb Scott,i`m still searching for a shot of my own bison that I am happy with,but you certainly nailed this one!

    June 23, 2013 at 10:14 am

    • Thanks Ross – still playing with the new gear to get ready for our next adventure – hopefully without the full blown “lens envy” that I had in Yellowstone!

      June 23, 2013 at 10:55 am

  12. Ha ha I think the envy might go the other way,could really do with 2.8 but not going to be in my budget for a long time! Not long now ;o)

    June 23, 2013 at 12:04 pm

  13. So lovely, Scott.

    June 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

    • Thanks Cheryl – I hope everyone liked this one as much as I did – it was a cute moment with creatures not necessarily known for their cuteness….

      June 24, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

