Sharing moments in time…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow


This is one of those coincidences that make it easy to make a choice of photos for the challenge.  I looked this morning to see the subject for this week’s challenge and then I glanced at my wallpaper on my computer (which changes daily from one of my photo files) and up came this shot of our Bear Camp from last year at Hallo Bay, Alaska.  This is certainly a foreshadowing “sign” as we are in the final stages of preparation for this year’s trip to photograph the Bears in Alaska.  We leave next week for another fun and awe-filled week with the largest land predators in North America.  I hope we get some more sunsets like this one but I also hope that the overall weather is better than we had last year when it rained the entire week.  Lastly – I hope that the Bears are well-fed!!

"North to Alaska"

“North to Alaska”

We’ll be back on the salmon streams this year so get ready for more of this….

"We're waiting for you"

“We’re waiting for you”

 

14 responses

  1. Reblogged this on artattack.

    August 2, 2013 at 1:51 pm

  2. Wonderful photos..

    August 2, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    • Thanks Helen – I really enjoy Alaska and the Bears – one of best things I’ve been lucky enough to do.

      August 4, 2013 at 11:40 am

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow | OH, THE THINGS WE SHALL SEE ~ Photo companion blog to TheSanctuaryofMyHeart.com

  4. Love both photos…the sky is gorgeous in # 1 and the moment in time “salmon fishing”
    is perfection.
    Peace,
    Siggi

    August 2, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    • Hi Siggi! Thank you for the comments – haven’t heard from you in a while. Hope all is well with you!

      August 4, 2013 at 11:39 am

  5. Yet another place on my “Places I want to go but will never be able to afford” bucket list. Though if I ever do make it up there, views and sunsets like that could very easily make me forget I was there to photograph bears 😀

    August 4, 2013 at 4:15 am

    • Jeff,
      Its an amazing place in so many ways. I highly recommend it if you ever have the chance.

      August 4, 2013 at 11:38 am

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow | Say It With A Camera

  7. ed hotham

    Where are you going in Alaska?

    August 4, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    • Hi Ed! We’re going to an area called the Moraines – supposed to be a great salmon stream with lots of bears (like the stream at the lake – only better). I got a call from Phil two days ago that said its been pouring down rain with 50 mph winds since he got up there. His first guests (who are coming with a well known photographer by the name of Charles Glatzer that Phil has been working with for a few years) have not been able to fly in yet because of the weather and Glatzer’s second group is due in on Tues. We are due to fly into the camp next Monday.

      How are you doing? Still doing photo trips? Hope the Sequestration is not hurting you too much. Scott

      August 4, 2013 at 6:56 pm

      • ed

        the sequestration sucks. I hope I have a job next year. I was thinking of going with Phil too but worried about my job too much. Who knows where I could end up if they have to transfer me. But I got enough years in for a pension so that’s good. I’m going to Juneau to see friends next week as I found out I have a job until Dec. Fun!

        August 8, 2013 at 11:42 am

      • Ed – see my most recent post – we had to cancel because of weather. We are scrambling trying to make alternate arrangements for bears. Sorry to hear about the job uncertainty, I’m sure Wahington will figure it our…..WRONG!

        August 10, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Leave a Reply

